New Books to start 2014 :)

I didn’t get a chance to read as many books I wanted in 2013. I was busy finishing college up to August and then I moved back to Dallas after that and started working full time. In the past few weeks I have made sure I have a pretty decent sized pile of literature to keep me busy through 2014. I have to make up for lost time!

Here’s my list :

The Maze Runner by James Dashner 

     I started this one a week ago and I’m still not very far into it since we were i Maryland/Virgina for a week. It seems action packed so far, but a little repetitive with the main character’s inner thoughts and worries. I understand the situation and it’s strangeness… MOVE ON. I picked up this book a few weeks ago mainly because I heard they were making it into a movie and I really like the guy who is playing Thomas, the main character. (He plays Stilinski on MTV’s Teen Wolf.) I’m going to push myself through it. I don’t want to not finish my first book of the year.

Midnight Riot by Ben Aaronvitch

    I heard of this little treasure on a Vlog I follow on Youtube. Her name is Tanya Burr and she is from London and mentioned she was reading this series. She compared it to Harry Potter so immediately I had to have it! I’m looking forward to starting it soon. I really wanted the original cover to the book, which is only sold in England. It’s called Rivers of London, and it’s beautiful! Way prettier than the U.S. version. I thought about ordering it online but I wasn’t sure if the language would be too different like Harry Potter and The Philosopher’s Stone vs Harry Potter and The Sorcerer’s Stone.

The Children of Hurin by J. R. R. Tolkien, Edited by his son Christopher Tolkien

    I had to get this book, being a diehard Tolkien fan and all. I’ve heard this book is one of his darkest and most tragic. Next on my Tolkien list his Book of Lost Tales.

The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan

    This is from his Roman Mythology collection but it ties into his Percy Jackson series. I started this book twice before but still have yet to get far into it. Not because I don’t like it but because I keep reading it at the wrong times. I keep starting it after I finish books that I love so my heart isn’t in it yet. Do you ever have the hardest time deciding what to read next? Sometimes I can’t tell if I need another high fantasy book or a children’s book or if I want to go back to something that I’ve read in the past.

 

 

One of my Christmas presents was a $50 Barnes and Noble gift card, which I fully intend on utilizing here soon to expand my book collection. I think next I will try out Loki’s Wolves by K. L. Armstrong and Melissa Marr. I love mythology books!

 

Happy Readings 🙂

Leave a Reply

