Divergent Movie vs Book

My boyfriend and I went yesterday to see Divergent. We were suppose to go with some friends in a week but I couldn’t wait. The Hunger Games and Divergent were the first Post- Apocalyptic novels I really got into. Several of my friends had gone to the midnight preview and Said it stayed true to the book. I completely agree. There are so many book to film adaptions these days that don’t stay true to their novels that I didn’t want to get my hopes up. However… I was very impressed. I’m glad they didn’t change the story line or add in extra plots.

My one qualm with this film, also with its book counterpart, is that it is slow. It was interesting to me but I think you have to like books like this to enjoy it. I’m not entirely sure a person who had never read the book would enjoy the movie. I guess maybe they would just being the Dystopian/Post-Apocalyptic thing is big right now but otherwise I think the person watching it would not be as emotionally attached to the characters unless they had read the book prior to seeing the movie.

I do give it kudos for staying true to the book and to Veronica Roth’s vision. I thought many of the characters were exactly how I had imagined them while reading the book. Overall, I would say go see the movie.

Image                            Image

 

 

One thought on “Divergent Movie vs Book

  1. Pingback: Divergent (Divergent, #1) by Veronica Roth | She Reviews Everything

Leave a Reply

