Non-Fiction YA Books That Helped Me Survive High School

1. Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret by the amazing Judy Blume. I may have said this before on here but Judy Blume is one of my favorite Children’s/YA authors. She got me through some serious stuff growing up. I would recommend all of her teen books to teenage girls. This is just in the top two of my favorites of hers. It’s not too risky but it definitely talks about the things you’d rather not discuss with your mother… like boobs… and periods… and boys.

2. Forever by Judy Blume. Another awesome book that talks about the scary stuff. S-E-X. This is for an older group of girls, and it’s based in the 70’s but it’s still totally relatable. I had several friends that had to hide this book from their mothers.

3. Lock & Key by Sarah Dessen. I read this book when I was about 17 years old. It’s more about neglect, abandonment, and abuse. Even if you can’t relate to this book it touches on being able to fit in at a new high school and talking to boys. I have never actually read any of her other novels, the others seemed depressing. I guess this one is too but it’s got some good stuff.

4. Candy by Kevin Brooks. Okay, okay… Yes it’s about a boy kind of falling for a prostitute in England. And having to battle it out with her pimp but John Brooks is awesome. He reminds me of John Green, in the way he writes about teen relationships. Not just romantically but friendships as well. His novel Black Rabbit Summer is also worth checking out but it’s different. It’s about a kid that goes missing and it was just kind of trippy but interesting.

5. Ellen Hopkins. Go read all of her books now! NOW! But start with Crank. It was the first one I picked up. At first I wasn’t too sure about it because it’s written like poetry but not really. It’s so cool though, because you can read it different ways, up – down or left to right. She talks about all of the ugly stuff like rape, drugs, religion, gambling, expectations, parents sucking, and prostituting. Some of it you would never think is real. But it is. Oh it is. One day I am going to meet Ellen Hopkins and I just want to slow clap as she walks into the room for just being…Honest.

Leave a Reply

