Day 1… Pick Up That Pen and Give Me A Page!

So today I finally picked up the pen again and started writing. I started a short story, teen fiction. From the time I was 8 I have had a journal but I slowed down on the journal writing when I was in college. I did start a few short stories in college and had them saved on my computer. Sadly, my hard drive decided to die on me around December and I had to replace it, losing all of the stories I had been working on. Yeah yeah! I know I should have had them saved to Dropbox or something. Lesson learned. 

I still have my old hard drive sitting in a junk drawer next to a bazillion Chinese takeout menus because it makes me sad to think of throwing it away. Kind of silly, I know. I’m shaking my head at myself too. 

Anyhow, I’m still feeling pretty inspired from the book signing and I hope I can eventually finish a story and be comfortable with other people seeing it. I guess the fear of rejection holds me back. I need to put my big girl panties on and just deal with it. Rome wasn’t built in a day! And J.K. Rowling was rejected a good number of times before an agent took on Harry Potter. I even went to the lengths of buying myself a Writing YA for Dummies book online this afternoon. (Please don’t judge too harshly!) 

This blog will be my new journal of venting through this book/story writing process. I need an outlet and hopefully there are some likeminded people out there who will understand. 

2 thoughts on “Day 1… Pick Up That Pen and Give Me A Page!

  1. Pingback: SparkLife » The Problem(s) With Fan Fiction | FanFiction Fridays

  2. Pingback: SparkLife » The Problem(s) With Fan Fiction | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

Leave a Reply

