Book of a Thousand Days by Shannon Hale Review ***SPOILERS***

Oh my goodness, if you have not read this book you need to go get now. RIGHT NOW! Especially all of the girls. I have never read a Shannon Hale book before now. From what I understand The Goose Girl is a popular one of hers. My mom who is a librarian lent me Book of a Thousand Days on my NOOK. It was a very quick read and just an over all feel good book. It is a spin on the Grimm Brothers Maid Maleen tale and I think Shannon Hale surpassed them with her tale of Dashti.

The main character, Dashti, is probably one of my favorite characters from a book. She was a girl who stood by her convictions, loved with an open heart, and put others before herself. (Even her animals and her lady, Lady Saren, who did not always return Dashti’s kindness.) She is a true optimist and chooses to always see the good in the world, even when she’s locked in a tower for years.

I really wanted to like Lady Saren… She had some awful injustices done to her and her father was cruel to her. But her lack of personality and her cowardice made it very hard.

I loved Dashti and Tegus’ love story. It may be my favorite romance yet! They seemed so in tune with one another and they both had the most beautiful outlook on life. I was pleased they ended up together. I didn’t think Saren was going to just hand over that happiness to Dashti after the took My Lord the cat.

I would give this book 5 stars. I was going to give it 4 until Dashti saved the day and got the guy. But I was very happy with the ending 🙂 If there was any person or character that had a beautiful soul it would be Dashti.

One thought on “Book of a Thousand Days by Shannon Hale Review ***SPOILERS***

  1. Pingback: Book Review: “Book of a Thousand Days” | The Cheap Reader

Leave a Reply

