Lirael by Garth Nix

This book was really interesting but a letdown at the same time. I was so excited to read it because I had read Sabriel my last semester of college in my Young Adult Lit class and thought it was the most interesting High Fantasy book I had ever read. Mogget was and still is my favorite character!

However, Lirael fell short of my expectations. I really liked how they did the book tandem with Lirael and Prince Sameth, but the entire book was a climax with no conclusion. There was a twist of some sorts at the end but it never got to the point of the story.

I’m guessing that’s what Abhorsen will be about. I just wish there had been a little bit more in Lirael. It felt like it was missing the ending to the book, and it was a long read on top of that.

I have high hopes for Abhorsen though. And Clariel when it comes out this fall.

Next up: City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare.

2 thoughts on “Lirael by Garth Nix

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Sabriel | The Leather Library

  2. Pingback: The Leather Library / Book Review: Sabriel - The Leather Library

Leave a Reply

