31 Day Blog Challenge: Favorite Quote

I’m playing catch up on some of these blog posts. I spent the last weekend with my best friend and her boyfriend. He’s in the Navy and it was there last weekend together so we had a double date and went to see Mockingjay. I was pleasantly surprised! I wasn’t a huge fan of the first one, but in my opinion, the film franchise has been improving with each movie. Mockingjay  was a great blend of a love triangle, political uprisings, and Katniss’ battle with her inner-self. Some parts were a little cheesy, like the propaganda videos but I think they were meant to look extra exaggerated.

31 day blog challenge

My favorite quote has been the same since I was 13 years old, in the 8th grade. I remember watching The Crow at a girls house, who I am no longer friends with, and falling in love with it. I know, pretty angsty even for a 13 year old. I think a large part of it had to do with my love for Brandon Lee (R.I.P). Throughout the movie, the main character, Eric Draven AKA Brandon Lee says a song quote from a song by his fictional band in the movie: “It can’t rain all the time.”

I was obsessed with this quote all through high school and even till now. I would doodle it on my assignments, illustrate my future tattoo with it, etc.

I think a large part of my love for this particular quote has to do with some home stuff I went through in middle school up to high school. Long story short, I felt like I had the worst luck ever and that I was constantly being punished and didn’t know what for. It felt like I had really pissed someone off in a past life and I thought I would never make it past my teen years. This quote was my way of interpreting that tomorrow is a new day or that things won’t always suck forever. I believe that is why that tiny, insignificant quote from a sub-par movie really resonated with me, and still does.

Leave a Reply

