31 Day Blog Challenge: What Am I Afraid Of?

Rejection and failure. The same as any writer. I have wanted to be an author since I was 9 years old, after I started reading Harry Potter. But to be honest, I have never finished a story I have started. I get halfway through it and I just think No one is going to want to read this…And then I just stop. I tell myself I am merely moving on to my next bigger and better project. Honestly though, I think I am just justifying a reason to quit. As much as I think I would love to be an author, I think the whole trying to find a publisher, editor, and agent would scare the poo out of me. I know the first rejection letter I would receive would send me into a deep, dark, bottomless pit of depression. I am one of those people who fixate on things and never give myself credit, or so I am told.

I know, I know! Take it as constructive criticism! or Screw ’em! Who cares? Move on to the next one! I can’t tell you why I am so afraid of these things but I am. I remember not passing some tests or assignments when i was in elementary school and coming home bawling because I thought it was the end of the world! It’s something I have been trying to improve on as I get older but I guess everyone has their “thing” that they are self-conscious about.

Other than that, I am terrified of snakes and I have slight claustrophobia. I will say that I have gotten better about being claustrophobic. I can talk myself out of it sometimes.

31 day blog challenge

Leave a Reply

