The Life of a Twenty-Something

This is actually just a tidbit from the life of a twenty-something. (23 to be exact) I started my student teaching back in August. My boyfriend/fiance (fiance sounds so snobby -_-) was on a trip to visit his family up in Maryland and Virginia for a week when I had started. This may sound crazy but I hate sleeping in the apartment by myself. It was the first I had spent a night alone in two years and I live over an hour away from any of my family. My ferret, Hermes was sweet enough to sleep in the bed with me though. But let me tell you, I did not sleep much. I stayed up late reading to keep my mind off of being by myself and I was bringing a lot of my work home with me. After the first two weeks of my student teaching I was a zombie.

The night Ricardo came home I was just so happy to be able to get a full nights rest. I was so excited in fact, that I fell asleep at 5:30 PM. This was how exhausted I was:

photo

Quite attractive, yes? This is what exhaustion looks like. My oh so sweet Ricardo snapped it of me. I literally had fallen asleep on the floor going over lesson plans and grading.

The student teaching thing has been a terrific experience though. I have learned so much since August. My last day is this Friday and I have no idea how I’m going to say good-bye to my students and know that I will probably never see them again 😦 I’ve gotten to know each and every one of them and some of their families. I couldn’t be more proud of the progress they have made this semester and how thankful I am that I got to be a part of it.

I had my first interview yesterday with a school. It was for a long term substitute position, and I walked in all confident and thankful that Pinterest had so many great resources for preparing for an interview. Oh no, worst experience of my life. I went in expecting the principal to interview me but then walk into a room with 11 people, all with their own notepads filled with questions to ask me. This was not something Pinterest prepared me for. I don’t think anyone could have. It was my first interview ever! Not only was the principal and one of the grade level teams in there but also a WHOLE ‘nother team! To say I was overwhelmed and horrified would be an understatement.

I just felt so uncomfortable the whole time and I wasn’t really sure who I was suppose to be looking at. The principal or one of the 10 teachers in the room? I felt like one grade level really liked me and then the other one just stared at me the entire time. I tried to bolt for the door once the questions stopped but my purse strap had rolled under the wheelie chair and I almost tripped out! So I’m trying to squat down in my pencil skirt, unsuccessfully trying to untangle my purse strap when eventually the PRINCIPAL comes up and saves the day. THEN I said a quick thank you and bolted for the door. Phew!

Who knew being an adult would be so hard? I felt like I was living a Bridget Jones movie, all awkward and ungraceful.

Thankfully, I also received an email from another principal later that day and booked another interview for earlier today. I went in there very unsure of myself based off of yesterdays debacle but was pleasantly surprised! It was just me and the principal, who was very nice by the way. I felt more prepared for the questions thrown my way and to be honest after yesterday I was like “F*** it. It can’t be worse than that little show you put on yesterday Des.” That mentality actually made me feel more relaxed and less nervous about the interview. I think this one went really well! And if anything, I just feel less like a goof and more comfortable with the whole process now. Keep your fingers crossed for me!

The fact that this position is a math position scares the heebeejeebees out of me but I figure, just get a job and make yourself more comfortable with it! Maybe tackling my fear will make it easier on me in the future. (And I hear that it’s easier to switch positions once you have an “in” at a school. Maybe I can make that happen for next year!)

So that was my embarrassing, “life as we know it” story for the twenty-somethings out there. Don’t feel discouraged if you bomb your first interview! Use it as a practice run for your second one! 😉

Leave a Reply

