I Missed National Readathon Day!

World AfterSo I am catching up today on Sunday Funday. I finished The Bane Chronicles last night and started World After by Susan Ee. Angelfall got a little more sci-fi and darker than I usually like but I have to know what happens with Penryn and Raffe! And Ee is such a quirky writer. I love her writing style. You know you are reading a good book when the sarcasm makes you repeatedly giggle to yourself as you are reading it.

I was a little bummed I didn’t get to participate in the readathon yesterday but that’s okay. I had a pretty awesome Saturday. I started the 21 Day Fix by Beachbody last week so I got up immediately and did my Upper Body workout because I knew there was a lot on the agenda for the day. Yesterday I could barely walk from being sore, now my arms feel like they’re about to fall off. I guess that just means it’s working!

Ricardo and I met my mom at a cake bakery yesterday around lunch time and we got to try different flavor wedding cakes! We finally decided on the cakes we will be having at our wedding in May! And we booked our caterer last weekend! Rudy’s barbecue will be catering and we will be having a chocolate cake with chocolate covered strawberries waterfalling down from it and a white and strawberry cake, with yellow ombre icing for my brides cake. It feels like we’re finally getting things in place! We plan on talking to a travel agent soon to plan out our honeymoon! Any good suggestions on where to go?

After the cake tasting my best friend came out to our house and we went and pampered ourselves with some pedicures. She and I both started our teaching jobs at the same time so we deserved it! She’s teaching 5th grade and I teach 2nd grade.

Two more of our friends came over later and we had a Scream marathon and had pizza and beer. It’s sad but I had only ever seen the first Scream movie. I fail at being a 90s kid. To be honest, I had always been a weenie when it came to scary movies up until about a year ago. I was put in social situations where I was forced to watch The Conjuring and The Blair Witch Project and then I realized it wasn’t so bad. I guess I finally grew up and quit being scared of the dark at age 22! The other Scream movies were mostly comical because they’re so 90s. There are all these horrible, gorey scenes and then…. queue 90s rock music! Haha Oh my gosh… and Courtney Cox’s baby bangs. What was up with that? Awful. I kept thinking Monica what are you wearing!? 

All in all, it was a pretty understated, epic Saturday. Sometimes the best of times are the most understated ones. I feel very blessed to have the friends that I do and that we can do lame things like order pizza and watch old 90s horror films and not have to go out to have a good time.

Leave a Reply

