The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, and Maureen Johnson

I started this book with crazy high expectations. I have been reading The Mortal Instruments books since high school and have been a huge fan ever since. I don’t think I have ever read a Maureen Johnson or Sarah Rees Brennan book before though. I finished this book yesterday evening, but I had started it well before Christmas. I normally finish books a little quicker. However, for the duration of this book I had also read Scarlet by Marissa Meyer  and started Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. So I had several projects going at once and I had just begun my teaching job. I have to say though, the ending was a little slow. I wasn’t a big fan of how the first story in the chronicles ended. I read the whole story about Magnus and Ragnor in Peru and you never actually find out what happened in Peru! After that there were a few stories I think that could have been omitted. I really started getting into it around the middle of the book when characters I knew and loved started popping up. Like Tessa and Will Herondale. That’s when it got to where I couldn’t put it down. After Tessa, Clary and Jocelyns stories came Alec and Isabele Lightwood. I think the best chapter was the last one with Isabele calling and leaving neurotic messages on Magnus’ voicemail regarding Magnus and Alec’s break up. She’s a hoot! I must say I rather liked the stories with Raphael Santiago too. He’s so dark and mysterious. He would be the Downworlder I would go for…if he didn’t forever look like a 15 year old. Camille’s stories got kind of old, Ragnor was all over the place, and Magnus had so many loves I could barely keep up with them. I kind of wish there had been more in there about where he came from. There was a short tidbit but I wanted to know more about his mother.

I would definitely recommend this book. Maybe just skip the first story or two. They don’t add much to the story or to the character building of Magnus Bane.

Bane

Leave a Reply

