World After by Susan Ee

She has done it again! Blown my mind with her amazing writing skills. This author makes me like science fiction! I’m more of a hobbits and dragons fantasy reader, not horror/people creating monsters type of girl. But I love these books! I love Penryn. I love Penryn’s name. I love Raffe, because he sounds like the sexiest most smolder-iest guy ever! My first ever fictional love was Edward Cullen from The Twilight Saga. But I’m older, and more the wiser and have grown to love Raffael, The Great Archangel, The Wrath of God… you know… a sexy tall, dark and handsome with wings and biceps! What’s not to love?

I would say that I would really love to see these books made into films but in all honesty, I’m pretty sure they would scare the heebeejeebees out of me. Those “locusts” scorpion things sound downright creepy. Those are the kind of things that give me nightmares. Like Shelob, and those irksome monster-spiders from Jumanji.

I know Penryn isn’t the sort of heroine that is popular these days. These days everyone roots for the underdog like Adelina from The Young Elites by Marie Wu or like tiny, frail Clary Fray from The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare. I love Penryn’s character though. So she’s tough? She can fight and she’s strong willed. She earned her courage and her fight from dealing with all of the ghosts from her past,mother, and present. You go Penryn! It’s not overly cheesy to me I guess. Katniss was a little cheesy, Penryn just tells it like she sees it. And I respect that.

I keep scratching my brain trying to figure out how Susan Ee is going to end the trilogy. Will Penryn and Raffe end up together? If they do will she become an angel somehow? Or will he give up his badass angelness, and all it’s glory to be with her? Or is Ee going to throw us a major curveball and have them part ways in the end? Or (Heaven forbid) Raffe or Penryn doesn’t survive the ending?

I just know it’s going to be a tough wait until May for the third and final installment of the trilogy and I will be very sad to say goodbye to Penryn and Raffe. Even Dee and Dum! Both the first and sequel have only taken me 3 days to read. They’re THAT good.

Also, where did her crazy mom get to?

Leave a Reply

