Books I Would Love to See Adapted to Film

When there’s a lull in the movie industry I start thinking about all of the books I wish someone would make into movies! I think the next movies coming out that I am looking forward to are Cinderella with Rose from Downton Abbey and Furious 7, the next Fast & Furious movie. I know! Those are completely different but I’m a sucker for a good fairytale and basically anything with Vin Diesel.

My picks of books that are deserving of a movie are:

1. A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray. This one I chose mostly because it almost was made into a movie but then funding or something fell through several years ago.

2. The Legend Trilogy by Marie Lu. It will be better than The Hunger Games! These books are amazingly fast paced. I feel like it would be really challenging to find an actor for Day. I’m not even real sure how I picture him in my mind other than tough… and blonde…. and smart.

3. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. The only thing with these books is that they are sci-fi. These would have to be done really well to work. Anything that is high fantasy or sci-fi is hit or miss. Like Terra Nova, or The Mortal Instruments. I feel like both projects had so much potential and fell short because the things that weren’t done well were awful! I would also be extremely disappointed if the actress who portrayed Cinder sucked. She needs a good, strong actress.

4.The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. Although, in my mind, this one would play out better as a movie mini series. Almost like Outlander. It would need to be fanciful and extravagant without over-doing it. I would also hope that they would use all of Morgenstern’s language from the novel. It’s beautiful.

5. Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Page. I follow this author on Instagram and she seems like a pretty cool, adventurous person. If they made this awesome story into a movie I would hope that she would be as behind the scenes as possible and sprinkling her awesomeness all over it. The story is just so much darker than you think going into it and it’s so well thought out. I think it would be amazing.

Leave a Reply

