Nerdin’ Out Pen Pals

Oh my gosh. Have you heard about the subscription boxes like the Bookworm Box, Uppercase, or OwlCrate? I’ve been researching them off and on all day. The most interesting of them all, in my opinion would be the Bookworm Box. It looks like it started off as the brainchild of author Colleen Hoover, and you can donate some to charity as well. I can’t really determine the price of them, I think they only release that information to those lucky enough to make the sign up list for them. And from what I’m reading and hearing from friends the sell out FAST. Like within minutes.

After finding out about these I started looking around on Instagram at their tagged pictures, and I stumbled across several people talking about how they are pen pals with other book nerds and they send each stuff every month. It seems like most of them try to find a buddy from a different country so that they can send each other little knick-knacks from each others countries. Some of the goodies I have seen are make-up from other countries, books with different covers, or snacks.

My question is, has anyone on here done that? Is it safe? And if you have done it before, where have did you meet your buddy? I think it sounds really cool!

3 thoughts on “Nerdin’ Out Pen Pals

  1. I think it really just depends, honestly. I recently just started writing snail mail again, and at first it was a little hard to decide how to go about it. For me, I’ve met people through WordPress who I follow and enjoy who are looking for pen pals as well.I also use penpalworld.com, and it is a safe site that likes to ensure the safety of its users. I love reading and I’ve seen book tubers on YouTube make these kind of exchanges. I have found some new pen pals recently, but I haven’t found anyone to share books with yet, which is something I’ve always wanted to do. If you’re up for it, I would be willing to do that with you. I’m an avid writer and reader. What kind of books do you like to read?

    • That sounds fun! I mostly read young adult/middle grade fantasy. Every now and then I find a contemporary book I want to read. As of right now I have Fangirl and Anna and the French Kiss on my tbr list. And once in awhile I like adult historical fiction. I’m not too big on mystery books. What do you like to read?

      • That’s pretty much what I read, actually. I have a mountain of unused books that I need to be rid of. Some of them aren’t fantasy though, so be warned. I’ll write down what I have and you can pick from the list. We can start out like that and go from there, so we can learn each others tastes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

