Babysitting a Bearded Dragon :)

We start STAAR testing next week (grades 3-5), so all of the upper level teachers emailed us and asked for volunteers to watch their classroom pets over the weekend and for next week. They had a hedgehog, a bearded dragon, some turtles, and insects like hissing cockroaches… I signed up as fast as I could for the first 3 categories! And I got the dragon ๐Ÿ™‚ His name is Dundee!…Get it? ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve never had a reptile as a pet but he sounded really cool. Ricardo came up to school to help me carry him to my classroom and get him set up for the weekend. They fed him a mouse fetus and some crickets before we came and got him. I know! So gross. But he seems like a cuddly dude. I picked him up and he just crawled up my arm and laid there. I kind of want one now! but I don’t know if I could ever get use to his diet. They said they have to keep the mice fetuses frozen and you have to take them out awhile before to let them thaw before you give them to him. Yuck!

IMG_3889 IMG_3891

Ricardo and Dundee ๐Ÿ™‚ย IMG_3892

He smiles!

IMG_3893 IMG_3895 IMG_3896

Leave a Reply

