The DUFF by Kody Keplinger

The Duff

I have no idea when the last time was that I read a contemporary book. I used to love teen romance and contemporary novels in middle school and freshman year of high school. I was all about The Princess Diaries books and anything having to do with girls going off to boarding school in foreign places. I used to really love the Ellen Hopkins book as well. I still do in a nostalgic way but I grew out of the angst eventually.

I decided to take a break from the Outlander books after I finished Dragonfly in Amber. I love love love those novels but they are so long. So long. I am probably not going to reach my Reading Challenge goal on Goodreads because I spend so much time trying to get through those books. I kept seeing commercials for The DUFF on tv and it looked witty, and funny so I picked it up. I really enjoyed it. It was a refreshing break from my usual high fantasy/sci-fi/historical fiction books I normally gravitate to. The main character Bianca is hilarious. She’s such a hot mess! She kind of reminded me of Jenna Hamilton from the MTV show Awkward. She’s very bitter and cynical but you can tell she’s very loyal and loves her screwed up parents for all their faults and appreciates her friends for putting up with her angsty, screwed up drama. She was a little selfish there for awhile and wasn’t a great friend to Casey but we won’t hold it against her! I can imagine finding out your parents are divorcing when you’re in high school, while your mother is always absent and your father is a struggling alcoholic would be somewhat traumatizing. I forgive her.

And I love Wesley. He’s such a sweet hearted douche bag. (Yeah I know, I just said that.) But he is! You can tell right off that he hides behind his womanizer, over-inflated ego. He’s lonely just like her and that’s what makes them perfect for each other.

I thought Toby Tucker’s character was very beneficial to the plot as well. And very relatable. Who hasn’t been on a date with the guy who was too nice? I dated a guy like that in high school for awhile and try as I might, I could never build up romantic feelings for him, And he was so perfect! He would come hang out with me at home when I was sick, he brought me flowers after my plays in theatre, my parents loved him, he got me to go to church in high school, and the list goes on. We’re still friends but it was like I was bored with how perfect he was. That probably says a lot about my taste. Haha!

Anyway, my best friend read the book before I did and she saw the movie as well. Apparently they are nothing alike but equally as funny. I can’t wait to see it! I’m just waiting for it to hit Redbox! This is definitely a good, quick read if you are looking for a good in-betweener or a fabulous stand alone novel if you like witty, angsty teen novels!

Leave a Reply

