Honeymoon Out West

We had the best honeymoon.

The driving on the way THERE was awesome. On the way back it was a little brutal due to being tired and sunburned. We left our house around 7am last Wednesday and got home at 11:45 the next Tuesday night. We drove all day on Wednesday and decided to stay in Flagstaff, Az. I think I had heard of it before but never given it much thought but it was the cutest little college town! It reminded me of a nicer San Marcos. (Where I attended college in Texas.) We headed out early the next morning for The Grand Canyon which is about 45 minutes to an hour from there.

We’re not really the resort & spa type so we decided to go a mini adventure out West to see as many National Parks as possible. I had never been out West so the first stop was the Grand Canyon. And honestly, either the Grand Canyon or the Muir Woods is my favorite after this trip. I don’t know if I could pick which one. I expected the Grand Canyon to be big but whoa. It almost makes your knees hurt with how high up it is!

Grand 1 Grand 2 Grand 3 grand 4 GRAND 6 GRAND 7 GRAND 8 GRAND 9 GRAND 10 GRAND 11 GRAND 12 GRAND 13 GRAND 14

Next up on our list was Hoover Dam on the way to Yosemite. This stop was completely spontaneous. We saw The Strip in Vegas but only from afar. We stopped by the Hoover Dam because we were driving over it anyway. We didn’t pay to get in, but we got some pretty cool pictures! All I could think about while we were there was the movie “Fools Rush In” with Selma Hayek and Matthew Perry! If you love that movie like I do then you know what I’m talking about. I also thought it was a coincidence that Ricardo and I happened to be there together… You know the whole biracial couple thing in the movie and settling into different cultures? The irony was not lost on me.

I feel like everything we saw on this trip was a bazillion times bigger than I anticipated.

HOOVER 1 HOOVER 2 HOOVER 3 HOOVER 4

Next on the list was Yosemite. Holy cow! The roads getting up to Yosemite National Park are so scary! It’s so high up and they are teeny, tiny roads that hug the mountain side. It was terrifying because we got there in the middle of the night and had to drive up there. I will never do that again at night. Making the trek during the day is bad enough. We almost didn’t find a place to stay either because it was so packed. One of the local hotels in Lee Vining found us a little hunters cottage things in June Lake down the road. It was a really old place but it had a lot of character and the staff was incredibly nice about getting up in the middle of the night and making us feel at home.

YOSE 7 YOSE 6 yose 4 yose 3 yose 2 Yose 1

The Lembert Dome was awesome to say the least. We hiked up around it to Dog Lake. The lake was breath taking and there were dragonflies all over the place so we didn’t have to worry about mosquitos.

After Yosemite we drove to San Fransisco, which was also packed due to their annual Pride Parade Festival. It was a complete madhouse! So many people everywhere. We didn’t even get to do a Alcatraz tour because it was so crowded 😦

We spent most of our time there on the Fisherman’s Wharf and Pier 39. We tried out Boudin’s, Biscoff Coffee (Who knew their coffee was amazing!) , The Bay Aquarium, and Chocolate Heaven while we were there! If it hadn’t been so crazy we probably would have stayed a little longer but the hotels were all booked up and super expensive.

Aqua 1 Aqua 2 Aqua 3 Aqua 4 WHARF 1 WHARF 2 WHARF 3

Our last anticipated destination on our honeymoon was The Muir Woods. I have always, always, ALWAYS wanted to see the tall redwoods and sequoia trees in California. I thought it would make me feel like the elves from LOTR just moseying along in there. But actually it felt more like Ewoks were about to start popping out from behind the boulders and fallen logs! It was pretty neat. We did a long hike up to the Ocean View point and took some pictures. On the way there we stumbled across an adorable little town called San Rafael. If I ever move to California that’s where I’m living. We stopped just to have breakfast and then we realized that the whole downtown area was bustling because of an Italian street art festival. There were kids everywhere with chalk pastels painting one huge quilt-like mural on the street. It was beautiful! And they did it right in front of this old historic mission in the center of the town. It was a great blend of future and past.

Muir 1 Muir 2 Muir 3 muir 4 muir 5 muir 6 muir 7 muir 8 san raf 1 san raf 2 san raf 3 san raf 4 san raf 5

Pretty cool, right?

We ended coming home a few days earlier because I snagged an interview for next school year. We were physically exhausted anyway and I think the interview went pretty well! I think the next time we head to California though, we’ll definitely drive. It was great doing it once but I don’t know if I could do it again!

I finished 3 books during the road trip and will be posting reviews soon for:

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

The Lost World (AKA Jurassic Park #2) by Michael Crichton

We All Looked Up by Tommy Wallach

Leave a Reply

