Stolen by Lucy Christopher – Review

“Lets face it, you did steal me. But you saved my life too. And somewhere in the middle, you showed me a place so different and beautiful, I can never get it out of my mind. And I can’t get you out of there either.”

― Lucy Christopher, Stolen: A Letter to My Captor

11249189_860764413959348_536734504_n

This story starts out with 16 year old Gemma, in an airport. She’s one of those girls who is pretty but fades into the background of her parents busy life. At the airport her and this cute, 24 year old get coffee and he winds up kidnapping her. You find out later that he (Ty) has been watching her since she was 10 years old. Creep, right? Yeah just keep reading. It will blow your mind. Anyway, he kidnaps her and whisks her away to the Australian outback. He’s kind of like a super-mega boy scout and seems like he can survive anything in the wilderness. As the story unfolds you realize he’s just this lost little boy who was dealt a shitty hand in life. Not that it makes kidnapping okay, but you as the reader start to feel for him. You’re also hating him right along with Gemma, while feeling terrified for her life, WHILE kind of, sort of being attracted to this perfectly sculpted Abercrombie model-looking man-child. (That’s a lot of hyphens, I know.) But this book is that emotionally confusing!

There’s a quote in this book that says something like “How can you hate someone once you begin to understand them?” This should definitely be the tagline for the movie if it becomes one. It sums everything up. Because yeah, Ty is actually a little crazy and emotionally disturbed. Then on the other hand, he’s sweet to Gemma and takes care of her like she’s a porcelain doll. Sort of in an obsessive way, but you can tell he actually wants to talk to her and understand her. It’s insane.

The ending of this book almost tore me apart. I couldn’t decide what side of the moral line I wanted to stand on! Does this minor suffer from Stockholm Syndrome, or was there actually some cosmic, destiny thing pulling them together? Were they exactly what they both needed? I felt just as confused as Gemma in the end. I’m glad she was smart and told the truth though. He’s the one who made the wrong choices, regardless of how strong his feelings were. It’s not right to take away someones freedom and everything they know. Especially when they’re 16 and you’re 24! But I loved this book way more than I anticipated. I read it within 24 hours of purchasing it. I give it 10 stars out of 5.

Omg… and the camel. Loved the camel! Read it to find out more.

Happy Readings 🙂

Leave a Reply

