Book Cover Appeal

Alright, we all do it. I do it, you do it, we all do.

Even if you are picking the ugliest book of them all to read out of pity, you are still judging a book by it’s cover.

I personally don’t look at it as a bad thing. You have to look at the cover don’t you? The cover and spine are what’s going to be showing on your bookshelf. Is it not? The cover is a part of what makes it marketable. Sure, it’s not the most important part, but most people do judge based on the cover.

When you’re strolling and perusing around Barnes & Noble, or Half Price, or Hastings, what makes you pick up a book? Is it the color? The picture or design? Is it the swirly font? Is the title blaring at you in neon green print?

I picked a few of my favorite book covers to share with you today. And my little brothers are bored out of their minds since they don’t have any VBS, basketball, or tennis camps this week so they offered to model a few of the books, whilst trying on old Halloween costumes…. They’re 7 and 9 years old.. I don’t know.

My first book is:

FullSizeRender (1)

I love the WildWood Dancing cover because it is so busy. I feel like every time I look at it I spot something new. It’s also one of my favorite books so I feel very attached to the characters on the front. It gives off an ethereal vibe to me.

Next up with Harry Potter modeling is The Unwanteds by Lisa McMann

IMG_4646

I haven’t actually read this book yet. I’m a big fan of middle grade novels like Percy Jackson and Charlie Bone. I love the cover of this one because gives off adventureness. That’s a flying tiger on there. Who wouldn’t want to read about super cool flying animals? And the blurb at the top says it’s a mix of Hunger Games and Harry Potter. I love both of those! I’m going to try and finish this one before school starts.

Tiger’s Curse and Tiger’s Quest by Colleen Houck

IMG_4650

There are other books in this series but these two covers are my favorites. I love the design around the borders and how the design kind of puffs out. It’s very pleasing to those of the tactile-feeling club. I really like how it shows the difference between the two characters as well. They both have a tortured side but one represents the darkness more than the other. I just like the colors together too.

Next with Bobo Fett modeling is: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

IMG_4647

How can you not? This cover is beautiful. The color scheme, the design, the silhouettes, all of it! It’s just as breath taking as the writing.

Cress by Marissa Meyer

FullSizeRender

All of her covers are intriguing but I love the story of Rapunzel. This novel and Cinder are my favorites in the series but this cover is the best! I love how she is tangled up in her hair and the running scheme of red on al the covers. It’s very aesthetically pleasing.

IMG_4651

And I had to post a picture of the spines because they’re just as important to the book picking process as the cover is. My favorite spine of them all is The Night Circus. I had never heard anything about The Night Circus when I bought the book. I just walked by at Barnes & Noble and fell in love with the cover and spine. It’s the simplicity of it I think. It’s as elegant as the novel itself.

Leave a Reply

