The Elite by Kiera Cass – Review

11356884_492981117519330_1448890550_n

“Sometimes I feel like we’re a knot, too tangled to be taken apart.”
Kiera Cass, The Elite

BLURB

America Singer is now a part of The Elite, the six girls who Prince Maxon has narrowed down his search to. But is her heart in it? She thinks she loves Maxon but does America really want to be a princess? Does she have what it takes? Emotions are running high this late in The Selection. The competition is not only so Maxon can choose his hearts desire but also a princess test in some ways. This late in the game the queen and Silvia, the girls overseer, begin giving them tests to see if they have what it takes to be a good queen. While all this is happening, the rebel attacks on the palace are getting worse and worse.

Review

Is it just me or has America been getting on anyone else’s nerves? She cries all the time and she’s kind of vindictive. I mean I would be upset too if I kept seeing my boyfriend making out and spoiling other girls but she keeps him hanging, she doesn’t have a real conversation with his until she’s forced to at the end of the book, and she keeps acting out without thinking it through. I want to like her. I know she has good intentions, but she’s just not as noble as Katniss. She’s not really sacrificing anything.

I can’t take the back and forth with Aspen and Maxon either. I’m not either one of their biggest fans but she’s being cruel to Aspen by running to him only when she’s upset. He seems to actually be planning a future with her and she just wants to see if she can do better. Maxon has turned into a horn dog in this novel too. I liked it better when he was more faithful to America, but I guess that’s what happens when you start stringing someone along.

I’m loving the rebel attacks in the book. I feel like that whole aspect of the story adds texture to the book. Like HEY WHILE Y’ALL PLAY BACHELOR, WE’RE JUST GOING TO KEEP TEARING YOUR PLACE APART. It’s almost comical how the monarchy keep up The Selection process with basically a war raging in their country.

I don’t feel as if I am in love with these books. My favorite dystopian series is Legend and I feel like I’m actually a part of that fangirl group. These books are just fast paced and a train wreck. I can’t stop reading until I finally know Aspen or Maxon! Or what will happen with the rebels??? I mostly can’t stand every character in these books. They all have super-mega flaws and they suck. And America cries so much. SO MUCH.

I gave this book 4/5 stars. Mostly because it’s done a good job of keeping me sucked in even when it’s not as great as I think it should be.

2 thoughts on “The Elite by Kiera Cass – Review

Leave a Reply

