The One by Kiera Cass Review

11358140_862334337195076_388237761_n

“You are not the world, but you are everything that makes the world good.”
― Kiera Cass, The One

BLURB

In the last chapter of The Selection, we find out who Maxon chooses as his bride. We also witness loss, heartache, and love in this novel. We also see much of the war raging in Illea outside the palace walls, and it slowly makes its way into the palace. All of America’s and Aspen’s secrets come out into the open as well. Can Prince Maxon forgive his “dear” or will he cast her out of The Selection and opt for the more obedient princess?

Review

I enjoyed this book the most out of The Selection novels. The other ones may have been too much of a teen romance overdose for me. I enjoyed all of the action and all of the feels that came with this book. It was like the reader slowly got to watch America grow up. Honestly, she kind of sucked through some of the books. She was so selfish and always dragging Aspen a long as her backup plan and always not wanting to commit to Maxon because of the responsibility that came with it. She seemed almost lazy sometimes. But I am very happy with her character development in this novel. This addition to the series showed more of the behind the scenes with the girls and the royal family. I liked seeing all the nitty-grittiness.

Man, but some of the book nearly killed me. One of the characters dies at the end, who I felt like I had really come to like. And she was killed off in a sentence and wasn’t so much as an after thought! It made me so sad. I wanted her and ALL the girls to grow up and stay friends. This book really bonded the last few girls and that was nice to see. It was the Selection that sucked, not them. And her dad! I knew there was more to his story based on what had happened when he had come to the palace and had disappeared for awhile. I knew it! I wish there was some more backstory to that. And how Kriss tied into everything.

In the end, I gave this book 5/5 stars. I liked it better than the others by far. This one had so many feelings, camaraderie built among the girls, and a good mixture of a sad and happy ending. But what happened with the rebels? Is their job over now? I haven’t decided if I am going to read The Heir yet. Is it worth the read? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

