Drums of Autumn by Diana Gabaldon

11428206_487584608073774_1738589863_n

“Forgiveness is not a single act, but a matter of constant practice.”
― Diana Gabaldon, Drums of Autumn

BLURB

In this novel, in the Outlander series. Jamie and Claire are in America in the late 1700s. They have made their way up to the Carolinas and they are building a homestead with other Scottish Highlanders who have been sent to the Americas as indentured servants. Along the way, they meet Jamie’s aunt Jacosta (his mothers sister) and help her out on her plantation because she is blind and does not have a man around to help her with the things a woman cannot do in those times.

Meanwhile in the future, Brianna and Roger Wakefield are getting more serious and flying between Boston and Scotland to spend together. They both find out during their own research when and how Claire and Jamie die in the past. Upon finding this information out, Brianna flies to Inverness to go through the stones to warn her parents, while also meeting Jenny and the rest of her family at Lallybroch. Roger realizes what Brianna has done when all of her stuff shows up packed in boxes. He then follows her through the stone as fast as he can to make sure she is safe. The rest of the novel is about their journey from Scotland to America and their journey getting to Claire and Jamie. This novel is full of wild indians, the american frontier, and sacrifice.

Review

I finally finished reading this book! The Outlander books always take me so long to get through. Not because I don’t like them, I love them! They’re just such thick books with teeny, tiny print.

Although this installation in the series was not my favorite, I still enjoyed most of it. I felt like some of the book was rather slow paced but it was interesting seeing how Jamie and Claire interacted with the natives and learning about the Native American folklore and their customs.

And I still can’t tell how I feel about the character Stephen Bonnet. Don’t get me wrong, he sucks, but it was weird how he sucked but also had a sense of honor about him. I don’t know what that was about. Maybe he just held himself in really high esteem when he shouldn’t have. Once a pirate with no morals, always a pirate with no morals.

I’m not sure how I feel about Brianna and Roger getting stuck in the past either. I guess on the one hand it’s good because she gets to be with her family and get to know her real father and Roger doesn’t have any family left in the future. But then again, they don’t really seem like they belong there. And what’s going to happen in a few years when Jamie and Claire are supposedly going to die in a fire? Can they change the future, like Geillis Duncan said? Or are they fighting against destiny?

I liked how Geillie Duncan popped up again in this novel, with her Grimoire. I feel like she represents a theme in the novel. Like the unknown of trying to change the past and how more than likely, it can’t be done. She always pops up at one point or another.

I enjoyed how Fiona was “The Caller” in her grandmothers Pagan group. Fiona before now seemed boring and simple. Her new role and skills made her so much more interesting! I wish they would flash back to her and the other women on the hill and give more back story to that.

I don’t know how soon I’ll be reading The Fiery Cross but I’ll probably buy it soon. (Even though it doesn’t have good reviews on Goodreads.) I wish I could skip it and go straight to the next one. It sounds more interesting to me. The Fiery Cross sounds like it’s going to be a filler.

I wish that they would travel somewhere else. Maybe back to Scotland. To be honest, I get bored with all the backwoodsness of the American frontier. I guess maybe because I’m from America and I have heard about it all my life? I don’t know. I like foreign lands better. I hated my American Lit class I took it college. It’s all pastoral and about growing crops and fighting bears and being lonely. That’s just my personal preference though. I gave this book 5/5 stars just because I like they’re story so much. If the next one is this slow my rating may go down.

Leave a Reply

