The Unwanteds by Lisa McMann – Review

11881712_1744332355794330_1905149918_n

Blurb

Alex and his twin are separated for the first time. One is Unwanted and one is Wanted. You really don’t want to be an Unwanted because then the High Priest disposes of you for being a creative thinker. But does being disposed of mean the same thing Alex thinks it means? Or is it a blessing in disguise when he arrives to Artime where he can hone his creative ability and get away from the brainwashing city of Quill and the wicked High Priest Justine? Or does that mean he has to say goodbye to his twin Aaron for good?

Review

I was captivated by the cover of this book. I had no idea it was already a series. I just remember walking by the children’s lit section in Barnes & Noble and looking over at the super cool looking, flying cheetah on the cover. It reminded me of the Percy Jackson covers. Kind of like a cheetah-Pegasus.

I tried really hard to like this book. It wasn’t bad, per say. But it was no where near the caliber of Percy Jackson, Harry Potter, or Charlie Bone. The chapters went too quickly. There was no depth in this book. This might be good for struggling reader, or readers who just want the book to get to the point but it just felt like it was lacking to me.

I gave The Unwanteds 3/5 stars because I love the idea of the book and I love fantasy in it, with the stone animals and the dystopian feel to it. I just wish the writing would have been stronger.

The relationships in this book were also confusing to me. I totally get the whole brain –washing aspect, and how the families can easily turn on each other in order to survive. What I didn’t get was Alex’s relationship with basically everyone in this novel. Did his twin Aaron actually miss him? What was the deal with him and Lani? I so didn’t pick up on that little romance until he kissed her cheek. It caught me off guard. And not in an “Awwww! That’s so sweet!” kind of way. More of a, “What!? What just happened?!” way.

And Meaghan’s brother… he was way too cryptic to be helpful. He was slightly threatening and over-bearing. I didn’t like it. And where did he go? He’s barely in the book but he was the one who introduced everything to the new Unwanteds.

My favorite character in this book was Samheed. Partly because his name reminds me of Samwise, like Samwise Gamgee. Also because he’s real. Yeah, he’s got a temper but at least you don’t have to worry about what he’s thinking! He tells you! And he turns out to be a true friend to Alex in the end.

I’m taking this book to school with me to put in my classroom but I don’t think I will be reading the other installments to this series.

The Unwanteds (Unwanteds, #1)

Leave a Reply

