First Day of School

So the time has come again.

As Billy Madison put it, “Back to school. Back to school, to prove to Dad that I’m not a fool. I got my lunch packed up, my boots tied tight, I hope I don’t get in a fight. Ohhhh, back to school. Back to school. Back to school. Well, here goes nothing.”

I am so stinking nervous about tomorrow. Actually, me and my best friend are almost to tears because of nerves. I’m a new middle school Reading teacher and she’s going to be teaching just 5th grade Science this year instead of being self-contained. I just need the first week to be over. I hate adjusting to new situations. I am so excited about teaching middle school but my lack of experience terrifies me. I have only taught 2nd and 4th grade. I just need to get my new routine underway.

I have been working more than an ant in it’s hill. I have been to work everyday for the past 9 days. And I have been waking up at the crack of dawn every morning. I’ve been making copies, making lesson plans, decorating my classroom, getting everything organized, shopping for supplies, making PowerPoints and seating charts, going to trainings and orientations, and making anchor charts. And mentally preparing myself for the first day. I truly believe that I am as nervous as my 7th graders. We’ll all be in the same boat! I just have to fake it ’til I make it, right?

Here are some of the cute anchor charts I made for my class. I can’t draw and I have horrible handwriting so I traced one or two of them from my department head. Whatever works right?

IMG_4799 IMG_4798 11887121_759644177478999_1983045551_n

We’re starting with Inferencing before we read Wonder by R. J. Palacio, can you tell?

On a more relaxed note, I have met some awesome people at my new school. I’ve met a few of my new students and most of the staff. They’ve all been super welcoming and helpful. I’ve even become pretty good friends with my two new teammates, with whom I’ll be planning with this year. One girl is actually a newlywed like, myself. Her and her husband just moved here from Montana so I don’t feel like the only newbie to the area.

Thankfully, last night I had some time to send with my friends. Camille came over to spend the night with me, Tab, and Ricardo. Ricardo and I cooked dinner and it was a good time. It was some nice down time. We don’t have a couch in our living room yet so we drug Tab’s and our mattress into the living room to watch some Netflix after we ate dinner.

Here’s what our Saturday night in looked like:

11900034_10207475576946901_3067466125879023276_n

We like a little taters and broccoli with our cheese obviously.

11311355_1129562823725293_2001019595_n

Tab is on the far left (she’s the one teaching 5th grade Science), Camille in the middle is in her last year of law school and already has a job for when she finishes, and that’s me front row joe. I was looking pretty rough from working all day so I didn’t want to break the camera! 😛

It’s rare that we all have time to get together. Especially during the school year. I’m always thankful for nights we can all make time in our busy schedules.

Only 9 more hours until I have to wake up and get ready for school! Eeeeek!

Leave a Reply

