Would You Rather…?

I found this on a fellow book bloggers site and thought it looked fun! I love questionnaires with interesting questions 🙂

Would you rather read trilogies or stand-alones?    I’ve never been the biggest fan of stand-alone novels. I want MORE when I read a book. I guess because I read to be invested. I want to escape to somewhere different when I read. And I’m a huge fan of world building. I really appreciate the authors who can pull it off like Rowling, George R. R. Martin, Cassandra Clare, and Tolkien.

Sure stand-alones are good sometimes. I like them if I’m getting over a book hangover and need a book for entertainment and not an investment like The Duff or The Night Circus.

Would you rather read only male or female authors?     I’m not sure. I think male authors are great at getting to the point. Like Martin with Game of Thrones. It’s so gritty and I love the action and the no bullshit. Male authors also seem better at killing off characters which can be heartbreaking but can also be interesting. I.e. Martin, Kevin Brooks, Ken Follett, Gregory Maguire.

BUT, I love female authors too. Marie Lu is daring and great with action. Rowling hooked me in with the characters and Hogwarts. Libba Bray is witty and daring with her writing and she also doesn’t get too attached to her characters. Juliet Marillier is amazing at building relationships in her stories and Erin Morgenstern blew me away with her philology in The Night Circus.

So I think I would have to say I don’t discriminate when it comes to picking authors.

Would you rather shop at Barnes & Noble or Amazon?    Barnes & Noble errrrrrrday. I like book browsing in person. There’s something satisfying about perusing the aisles and picking up the different novels.

Would you rather books were made into TV shows or movies?    Movies. I take movies more seriously. The only show I really enjoy that’s based off a novel was Pillars of the Earth.

Would you rather read only 5 pages per day or 5 books per week?    5 books per week. Books are my main source of entertainment. Sure, I like tv but books=life. I love stories. I could never tire of books. 5 pages a day is not enough. I would totally make a career of reading books if I could.

Would you rather be a professional author or reviewer?   A published author. I admire them so much and I love the events they get to attend and talk about their books. I wish I had a talent for writing. I mostly keep a blog and a journal because I enjoy it. But if I could commit to writing a novel I would do it in a heartbeat. It’s hard to commit to that, maybe I will start one when I’m off in the summers at some point.

Would you rather be a librarian or a book seller?  A book seller. I think it woud be awesome to own a Barnes & Noble franchise. I would be so proud. Some of you may gasp in shock at that but I think it would be fun.

Would you rather read only e-books or physical books?  Physical books. I will read ebooks for NetGalley, but I love physical books. I want to have a huge library eventually. They’re special.

Feel free to answer some or all of the questions above in the comments!

The post Would You Rather Tag: Book Edition appeared first on Words Read and Written.

Leave a Reply

