Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

11809907_1662521473966138_1743175387_n

I was pleasantly surprised by this book. Yes I had heard all the hype about Rainbow Rowell, but contemporary novels are not what I gravitate too normally.

But I love the cover of Fangirl. I have the pink collector’s edition. Not the light pink, but the super dark pink one that almost looks red. My best friend has the mint colored version. I think that one is the original one. The inside cover art in the collector’s edition is soooooo pretty. I really appreciate how above and beyond Rowell and her publishers went with it. I don’t even read that genre and it managed to catch my fancy.

11910242_713281708803816_1725912587_n

Blurb 

Cath is a quirky college freshman who also happens to be a twin. She’s the introvert twin who is the typical English major. She writes all the time, never leaves her room, and has a blog. She is also obsessed with a book series that is comparable to Harry Potter. Her blog is based on her fanfiction of these books. Her sister is the extrovert who wants to party it up in college. They grew up with their dad and have mommy problems.

Cath also has a quirky, opinionated, punk-rocker roommate who has a friend named Levi that hangs around their dorm room all the time. At first Cath thinks he is her roommates boyfriend, come to find out that he has a thing for nerdy English majors who hate anything social. Guess who that is!

11358140_862334337195076_388237761_n (1)

Review

I did not expect to like this book. I don’t really love the character but I like the way the story falls into place but isn’t cookie cutter. I like how you can see the big differences between Cath and Wren. They fight about real-life stuff. It doesn’t feel forced.

I LOVE Reagan and Levi. Reagan is strictly “no bullshit” and Levi is so loveable. Loveable Levi. Siiiiiigh. He’s perfect but also a college guy at the same time. I’m so glad he wasn’t over perfect. That crap is always hard to relate to. Rowell does an awesome job at bringing her characters to life. I love all of their unique flaws and quirks. It makes it relatable.

Everyone in this book is a hot mess. Everyone. And that’s better than trying to make everything seem like it’s always going to be okay. Levi has a strict mama, Reagan has a chip on her shoulder, Wren is going through her party phase, their dad is depressed and has coping issues, and Wren has trouble coming out of her shell.

I think if I get another wild hair and have the urge to read a contemporary novel then I think I am going to pick up Eleanor & Park. My best friend says I would probably like it better than all her other books because the characters are so different.

For a contemporary novel, I give this book 4/5 stars. It was super good but I don’t know if I would call it a favorite. Rainbow Rowell sure is talented though. If you are ever in the mood for some quirky characters you should give this one a go.

3 thoughts on “Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

  1. Good review! I remember reading this book and loving it. Are you planning on reading Carry On (Cath’s fanfic) by Rainbow Rowell, since it’s not a contemporary, but a YA fantasy novel? It’s coming out on October 6th! 🙂

Leave a Reply

