Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard by Rick Riordan

12269788_1091416197556621_1308882082_n

Goodreads Blurb

Magnus Chase has always been a troubled kid. Since his mother’s mysterious death, he’s lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, keeping one step ahead of the police and the truant officers.

One day, he’s tracked down by a man he’s never met—a man his mother claimed was dangerous. The man tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god.
The Viking myths are true. The gods of Asgard are preparing for war. Trolls, giants and worse monsters are stirring for doomsday. To prevent Ragnarok, Magnus must search the Nine Worlds for a weapon that has been lost for thousands of years.
When an attack by fire giants forces him to choose between his own safety and the lives of hundreds of innocents, Magnus makes a fatal decision.
Sometimes, the only way to start a new life is to die . . .

Review

Going into this novel I thought it would be middle grade level like Riordan’s Percy Jackson, The Gods of Olympus, and Kane Chronicles series. While I wouldn’t go as far to call it Young Adult, I feel like this series is going to float somewhere between middle grade and young adult. There are some cuss words and one of the characters is betrothed to a young man because of an arranged marriage. Magnus is 16 years old where are the characters in Riordan’s other mythology series start off around age 12/13.

I very much enjoyed this book. I like how each of the different series feel different. You know that they are all apart of modern day time and coexist but the worlds that they live in are each so unique. It is almost like culture shock when you read stories like The Son of Sobek where Percy (Greek mythology series) and Carter Kane (Egyptian Mythology series) meet. And surprisingly, in this new series, the main character Magnus is a cousin of Annabeth from the Percy Jackson series. Whaaaaaaaat???!!! I know. Mind blown.

Every time they interact you’re like “OMG JUST TELL THEM HOW YOU’RE A DEMIGOD!” You know they would sit and talk for hours about it. I’m really hoping that by the end of all his mythology series that he is going to intertwine them in the end have an Avengers, all for one and one for all battle. Good ol’ fashioned Good vs. Evil be it Greek, Roman, Egyptian, or Norse!

I don’t want to spoilt anything for Magnus Chase but the beginning throws you for a loop. You’re like WHAT HOW DOES THAT HAPPEN THIS EARLY IN THE BOOK?! And the people that you think are going to be main characters are not. It feels a little hodge-podge in the beginning but it all eventually comes together and you fall in love with each character. It’s very much like the other series. You think “There’s no way this is going to make sense.” But Riordan surprises us and keeps us on the edge of our seats the whole way through.

In my opinion, his books can be educational as well. I learned so much from reading the Kane Chronicles about Egyptian mythology and the differences between Greek and Roman when I read his Percy Jackson and The Heroes of Olympus series. This novel was no different. Sure, I knew about Thor and Loki. I even knew a little about Freya from reading The Sea of Trolls trilogy by  Nancy Farmer. But I had very little knowledge of how Asgard and Valhalla interconnected. I knew one was where Odin resides and the other is the Norse version of Heaven. But I learned all about Valkyries, Frey, and Yggdrasil (the tree that connects the worlds).

I cannot wait until the next book that comes out. I hope there’s more Annabeth in the next one! I want them to connect the Norse and Greek worlds to defeat evil. I would like to see more Loki in the next novel too. He seems like a piece of work in this one.

On a side note, I finished reading Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. I will be posting a review soon and today I started reading A Night Divided by Jennifer A. Nielsen.

3 thoughts on “Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard by Rick Riordan

  1. I wish i could buy the book but due to India’s Blockade to my country (Nepal) the new books are not available 😦
    I am a huge Rick Riordan fan and reading your review I cant wait to read this book soon (Hopefully). 😀

Leave a Reply

