Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

Crown at Midnight

“Why are you crying?”
“Because,” she whispered, her voice shaking, “you remind me of what the world ought to be. What the world can be.”
― Sarah J. Maas, Crown of Midnight

Blurb

From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie… and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.

Review

If it’s possible, I probably love this book more than Throne of Glass.

I loved the whole trials with the criminals in the first book but I liked seeing the story weaving in this one. It goes more in depth with Nehemia and the backstory of the King of Adarlan. You start to understand why he rid the kingdom of magic. When I first started reading this story I thought it was because he was intimidated by magic, therefore he hated it. But after this book you start to understand the truth is a lot darker than that. The king is, and has been for a long time, dabbling in dark magic. What’s scary is that he’s always a few steps ahead of Celaena.

The more I read these novel the more I love her character. I love her dark side, I love hearing about where she came from (which you learn in this book), I love connecting with her strengths and weaknesses, and switching sides of the love triangles she’s in with her. At first I loved Chaol but by the end of this book I switched back over to Dorian. I like how well read and observant he is. He seems like he has a good heart even if he may not have the stomach to accept Celaena for who she is.

Chaol upset me a little too much in this novel in regards to Nehemia. I don’t want to spoil too much. You’ll just have to read it to find out!

Both Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight get surprisingly dark. Once the magic and secrets start unraveling it’s like it’s a completely different story. You would think reading a novel about a girl trained to be an assassin since she was 8 years old would already be dark, but no. It’s contradictory, but she’s an assassin with a good heart. Kind of like a darker Robin Hood. To fully understand that you would need to read the prequel.

I recently started reading The Assassin’s Blade, the prequel to this series. I’m always leery of prequels but this one has been just as good as the other books I have read. It’s composed of several short stories that Maas wrote that predate the events of Throne of Glass. The stories tell you how old Celaena is but you can also tell they go back before Endovier because of how young she seems. She’s more conceded and not as calculating yet. Little things upset her that seem trivial. I think reading this one after Crown of Midnight was a good choice. I get to see the Celaena prior to the trials and what she was like when she was with Arobynn.

Her anger and swiftly changing moods make sense now in the other books. She’s been through some series trials and tribulations. I can’t believe she’s not going full fore after Arobynn in these books. I hope that comes later though. He deserves any pain that she can inflict on him.

As much as I love these books I am probably going to take a break after I finish The Assassin’s Blade. They’re really dark and it’s Christmas time so I will probably read something a little lighter and happier. I was thinking of starting the second Doon novel by Carey Corp and Lorie Langdon. It will be a quick read and then maybe I will go on to Heir of Fire.

So far all of Sarah J. Maas’ books receive a 5/5 stars from me. If you enjoy high fantasy I suggest you pick these up! 🙂 They are well worth the read.

Happy Holidays 🙂

Leave a Reply

