The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas

The Assassin's Blade

“There was no way in hell she was going to move to the southern continent without all of her books.”
Sarah J. Maas, The Assassin’s Blade

(Celaena and I have something in common, a love of books! 🙂

Goodreads Blurb

Celaena Sardothien is Adarlan’s most feared assassin. As part of the Assassin’s Guild, her allegiance is to her master, Arobynn Hamel, yet Celaena listens to no one and trusts only her fellow killer-for-hire, Sam. In these action-packed novellas – together in one edition for the first time – Celaena embarks on five daring missions. They take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, where she fights to liberate slaves and seeks to avenge the tyrannous. But she is acting against Arobynn’s orders and could suffer an unimaginable punishment for such treachery. Will Celaena ever be truly free? Explore the dark underworld of this kick-ass heroine to find out.

Review

The Assassin’s Blade is a prequel to Throne of Glass. I read on a forum that Maas suggests  reading it before Throne of Glass, even though it was published after. I read it after reading Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2). And I loved it just as much as the next person.

I have been super hooked on these books. What makes it even better is that there’s already so many of them that are out. So after I finish one it’s super easy to go out and purchase the next one. I am going to be thoroughly depressed when I get all caught up and I can’t feed my addiction anymore.

The Assassin’s Blade is yes, the prequel but also a compilation of 5 of Maas’ novellas. They tell Celaena’s story pre- Adarlan’s King’s assassin championship. It starts when she’s 16 years old and still under Arobynn’s thumb. I LOVED getting to know young Celaena. 16 to 17 doesn’t seem like that much of a jump, she’s 17 in Throne of Glass, but Maas did an amazing job showing her pre-Sam’s death and The King’s championship

It was like actually knowing a person and seeing how and when thry grew up. It was right when Arobynn brought her Sam. Now to the gnats eyebrow as my grandmother likes to say! Before that awful night when Sam goes after Farran, she is a stubborn, willful, conceded, some-what prissy teenage girl who just so happens to be a trained assassin’s. She’s good at what she does but she also makes careless mistakes because she thinks she’s invincible at times. She can be a brat at times but she can also be a caring person who doesn’t want you to call them nice out loud.

There are 5 stories total in this book. My least favorite, but just as necessary as the other’s is “The Assassin and the Healer.” My favorite would have to be “The Assassin and the Desert.” I love all the characters that are in the Red Desert. I want to know what happens with Ansel later (a kind-of friend she meets there who is just as cursed with tragedy as Celaena) and I want to see Celaena go to the forest to get Spidersilk for the merchant. I think it would probably be a sad story but it reminded me so much of Lord of the Rings and Shelob.

Maas is so skilled at world building. Anytime she brings up any tidbit from the past with ANY of the characters I’m thinking “OMG PLEASE WRITE A BOOK ABOUT THAT I HAVE TO READ IT!!!!!”

I’d even buy her books about Ansel’s past or about Chaol’s life when he was growing up in Anielle if she were to write them. That’s how you know when someone has kicked ass at world building, when you just can’t get enough.

Of course this is another 5/5 stars for me.

Leave a Reply

