Fifty Shades of Grey is Twilight???

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/14617645/?claim=fdw5dndydbp”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

“Sometimes I wonder if there’s something wrong with me. Perhaps I’ve spent too long in the company of my literary romantic heroes, and consequently my ideals and expectations are far too high.”  E.L. James, Fifty Shades of Grey

Goodreads Blurb

When literature student Anastasia Steele goes to interview young entrepreneur Christian Grey, she encounters a man who is beautiful, brilliant, and intimidating. The unworldly, innocent Ana is startled to realize she wants this man and, despite his enigmatic reserve, finds she is desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana’s quiet beauty, wit, and independent spirit, Grey admits he wants her, too—but on his own terms.
 
Shocked yet thrilled by Grey’s singular erotic tastes, Ana hesitates. For all the trappings of success—his multinational businesses, his vast wealth, his loving family—Grey is a man tormented by demons and consumed by the need to control. When the couple embarks on a daring, passionately physical affair, Ana discovers Christian Grey’s secrets and explores her own dark desires.

Erotic, amusing, and deeply moving, the Fifty Shades Trilogy is a tale that will obsess you, possess you, and stay with you forever.

Review

Okay, I really stepped out of my comfort zone with this one. I do not normally read books in whatever genre you want to label this one; Mature, Adult, Smut, atc.

I purchased this on my Kindle app because a friend of mine suggested it to me and told me that the author James, wrote this novel based off the characters in Stephenie Meyers Twilight. I have been all about Twilight since I was 14. I don’t want to hear anything from you haters! The books are actually pretty awesome. While I was interested in this books because of all the close parallels with the characters, the book made me cringe a lot. Like shut my eyes and butt cheek clench because it was so uncomfortable.

My best friend and I went to see the movie when it came out and we actually kind of enjoyed it. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think it’s some crazy amazing cinematic marvel or anything. But it is very entertaining. Which is very close to how I can describe my feelings about the book. I don’t feel as if I love any aspect of it but it is highly entertaining to read. The whole time I was reading, in the back of my head I was thinking Are their actually people out there like this? And I’m sure there is. A lot of the topics and extracurriculars they partake in this book are activities I have not even heard of til now.

A word of advice, do not google their activities. They are not for the faint of heart. Which obviously I am, or was before I googled said activities. I had to put this novel down a few times before I could pick it back up again.

I won’t lie, their passion, and infatuation with each other was fascinating.

Ana starts off as this virgin in college who has no experience with anything of the sexual nature. But then BAM! Here comes Christian Grey waltzing into her life with his Red Room of Pain and Pleasure and Ana is all like “Totes! I am so down with all this S&M stuff, even though I’ve barely held a guys hand before.” I thought that was a little bizarre but maybe it’s like when you meet a bad boy and has this uncanny way of talking you into things you never thought you would do. He’s her bad boy in the strangest kind of way.

Ana is very Bella Swan. She is a little prudeish and calculating. And Grey is Mr. Elusive and Misunderstood like Edward Cullen. I also noticed parallels with Ana’s parents and Christian’s parents to Bella and Edward’ parents.

The writing in this book is terrible. It’s as if a hormonal 13 year old boy wrote sex scenes. Awkward and uncomfortable. The way they talk to each other is strange seeing as they hardly know each other. I have to admit though, I dig the “Laters, Baby.” It makes me laugh at how silly it is. It is one of the only things they joke about throughout the novel.

My favorite parts of this novel were the emails they would send each other. They were so flirty and Ana was a much braver person behind that computer screen than she is through the whole book in person. That was relatable and cute, if anything in the book can be deemed “cute.”

I probably would recommend this book to friends, if not just to giggle and talk about all of the parts of this book that make it absurd. Which I feel that the author must have been doing when writing this book… I can’t imagine taking it seriously. I bet she was having coffee one day, thinking about Edward and Bella and was like you know what would be fun? Writing smut about Edward and Bella to giggle about with my friends. Because obviously Edward and Bella had some crazy sexual tension throughout the Twilight series. (Well until the last book at least.) I can imagine that she had some writing these books.

I’m not sure if I will read the next ones. I haven’t even looked them up so I do not know what they are even about. I gave this book 2/5 stars but now that I have written all this out I feel like I owe it 3/5.

Laters, Baby.

Leave a Reply

