Destined for Doon by Carey Corp and Lorie Langdon

 

12331919_1520306918262283_1866569246_n

Goodreads Blurb

In this sequel to Doon, Kenna Reid realizes she made a horrible mistake-choosing to follow her dreams of Broadway instead of staying in the enchanted land of Doon. Worse, she’s received proof she and Duncan are meant to be, along with torturous visions of the prince she left behind. So when Duncan shows up and informs Kenna that Doon needs her, she doesn’t need to think twice. But even if Kenna can save the enchanted kingdom, her happily ever after may still be in peril.

Review

I enjoyed this book more than the first one, Doon. While I enjoyed the first one, it felt a little too cliche. I like how lighthearted and adventurous these books are. I’ve read the first and second ones in between other series because they make me happy when I read them and I feel as if all is right in the world when I am done.

This book slowed the plot way down. In the first one, Veronica and Jamie’s relationship was a whirlwind and happened way too quickly. It still feels forced in this one. I love McKenna and Duncan though. I like her wittiness but also how self-conscious she can be too. Their relationship feels more real because she did suck in the first book and left him hanging when he was willing to do just about anything for her. She flat out left him waving in the wind.

I think Prince Duncan’s hostility is realistic in the second book. No one just forgives a betrayal like that. The trouble brewing in Doon was more interesting in this novel as well. I liked the cottage in the book that Veronica and Kenna sneak off to. It reminded me of the movie Hocus Pocus. And the black petunias and the mist that was zombie-fying everything was more original that the conflict in the first book.

I do not think these books are great works of literature. Where I like the ideas of them and the characters, I do not like how the writing feels dumb-down. It definitely feels as if the author’s are trying to heard to sound like teenagers and to appeal too much to younger kids. Maybe this book should be in the middle grade genre vs. labeled as a Young Adult book.

My middle school self would have fallen head over heels for this story. The 24 year old me thinks it’s a fun book but not the best writing or plot development. Maybe if it had been slowed down more as well, I would have enjoyed it more.  At this point, I have already read two of these books and I feel as if I need to finish the rest. Shades of Doon is the 3rd installment of this series and the 4th one is going to be titled Forever Doon. That may be the last one but I’m not sure. I haven’t heard too much about it yet other than the title and a picture of it.

The author’s leave you with a cliff hanger at the end of book two and I want to see how it gets resolved. It’s definitely going to be a happy ending. If there’s one thing you can count on when it comes to the Doon books it’s that good always triumphs evil and they all lived happily ever after!

Leave a Reply

