Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas Review

12362207_411444392381847_1710978845_n

“And then I am going to rattle the stars.”
Sarah J. Maas, Heir of Fire

Goodreads Blurb

She was the heir of ash and fire, and she would bow to no one.

Celaena Sardothien has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak—but at an unspeakable cost. Now she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth…a truth about her heritage that could change her life—and her future—forever.

Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. To defeat them, Celaena must find the strength to not only fight her inner demons but to battle the evil that is about to be unleashed.

Review

Okay hands down, this is my favorite book of this series. It’s like they get better and better with each one I read. I am now reading Queen of Shadows and I don’t want it to end. Does anyone here know if Queen of Shadows is for sure the end of Celaena’s story? There could be a million more stories to add! Like if she came across Ansel again, or the merchant whom she was given the spidersilk from, etc. There are so many writing opportunities here!

As for Heir of Fire…This novel was a masterpiece. I was a little nervous about her Chaol and Dorian being split up but it was wonderful. I loved the new characters Manon, Rowan, and Aedion. They all added a ton to the story. My only question is, where does Manon’s story fit in? I feel like she will have a bigger part to play in Queen of Shadows and so will the wyrvens.

I can’t tell who Celaena/Aelin should end up with. A childhood flame/her cousin (weird, I know), Rowan who technically already “rattles the stars” with her and challenges her, Chaol who loves her enough to sacrifice his happiness? I don’t know! I think Dorian at least is out of the picture. I really liked him with Sorscha. The end of their story greatly saddened me. It’s like Dorian can never find a friend who is up front with him because of his princehood. I just want him to find someone who loves him regardless of his crazy father. It’s not fair to him.

Chaol has been sucking off and on. I can’t tell if I like him anymore. He has no convictions other than loving and sacrificing for Celaena but then again it seems like he just loves misery.

Rowan is where it’s at. Could an elf be any sexier? I’d runaway with Rowan, tattoos, broody attitude and all! I love him for Celaena. I think he saw a lot of himself in her and that’s why he finally opened up to her.

I like how Aedion is very balls to the wall. He takes no crap from no one. And his loyalty is unwavering even if his intentions are sometimes questionable. That may sound contradictory, you just have to read his story to understand. I think his love for Celaena is more familial and protective than lover.

I also love how you can tell Arobynn is going to come back into the picture. I’ve been waiting for this moment since the first book! He deserves every ounce of pain Celaena can inflict upon him. He’s comparably as horrible as the King of Adarlan is. I hope he gets what’s coming to him and I hope Celaena is the one to do it.

I think I will be rooting for Manon is Queen of Shadows too. I know she’s a big, mean, scary witch and all but I think she is going to be breaking down the barriers with the witch clans. She seems more intelligent than the rest of them, but also more calculating in a horrifying way.

5 stars for this novel so not seem like enough. I wish I could give it 100. I can’t think of one aspect of this book that I didn’t LOVE. I love it all. What did you think of the Throne of Glass series?

2 thoughts on “Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas Review

Leave a Reply

