Broken by Susanne Valenti

Broken

 

Goodreads Blurb

Since all of her hopes were dashed, Maya is struggling to adapt to her new life. Where dreams and wishes once kept her going now there is only the burning desire for revenge. She’s changing, hardening into the person she needs to be to hold it together but sometimes the cracks still show. She wants nothing more than to go back and become the person she used to be but sometimes she can’t even remember who that was. Nothing will be right again until she resets the balance. Blood will pay for blood and she won’t give up until the final drop has been spilled. Some say she’s taking it too far, others say it isn’t far enough.

Cage of Lies 3

Review

I’m not going to lie. I was REALLY scared starting this book. The end of the second one was a humdinger of a cliffhanger and I didn’t know if I would be able to come back from it.

I don’t want to spoil the book but there’s something that I was hoping for so hard all through this book but I was scared to get my hopes up. And I’m so glad to say that it was all worth it in the end. 🙂

I love all of Valenti’s books because they’re packed with action and suspense. This one like her novella Cut Glass was a little different. They are both more on the emotional side along with all the suspense so it’s like you’re on an emotional roller coaster with the charaters. And I don’t mean just one or two characters… like all of them. You become attached to each one.

Another thing I love about the characters in the Cage of Lies series is that all of the characters form a family. If you are into the Fast & Furious movies I think you will really enjoy these books. It’s a group of young adults, and maybe a few who are in their twenties, who have a strong bond and fight together like a family. It’s got some “Ride or die” undertones. I love it.

The two main things I loved about this book…

1) The ending as I have already stated. It hits you right in the heart. I can’t give anymore away than that.

2) Lee. I love me some Lee. His character cracks me up. He’s so rough around the edges but also has a big heart. I know he and Hunter are kind of similar because they’re both “alpha males” but Lee is way more lovable and aggravating at the same time. I was scared after the second book that we wouldn’t see him again. It made me sad to think that was all the Lee I was going to get. He is one of my favorite characters in the books. Almost like the Magnus Bane of the Cage of Lies.

One new thing that I can’t wait to see how it turns out in the next book is Maya and Taylor’s relationship. In this book, they have been testing some dangerous, tumultuous waters. Poor Taylor is all I can say. I know Maya has been all over the place and doesn’t know up from down anymore but give the guy a break! Someone is going to have their heart broken… and I don’t just mean floozy, love-starved Crystal. (Even though she seems like she’s been beat with the proverbial wet rope of teen love in this book too.)

In the end, they finally get close to the city but not quite there at the same time. And unfortunately, they have lost many comrades, several of the gang are severely injured, and they have not caught their enemy yet. I need to know what happens from here!

I give this books 4.5/5 stars. If you have not started the Cage of Lies series yet here is a link to the first book Chained. Go buy it now.

To learn more about the author and her other novels go here.

Leave a Reply

