The 5th Wave

“Some things you can never leave behind. They don’t belong to the past. They belong to you.”
Rick Yancey, The 5th Wave

I have loved this book ever since I first held it in my hands in early 2013.

I was lucky enough to get one of the first ARCs. My mom is a library and she went to an ELA conference in Austin, Texas and they were giving out tons of ARCs and getting to meet popular authors. She met two of my favorite authors of all time there, Rick Yancey and Libba Bray, the author of A Great and Terrible Beauty. And, side note, I got to meet both of them this past year at the Texas Teen Book Festival in Austin and it was amazing. Libba was super quirky and Rick Yancey was so down to earth and friendly. He noticed I had one of the early ARCs and asked how I had gotten it and told me to hold on to it after he signed it. Needless to say, my day (or year!) was made.

I was apprehensive about The 5th Wave when I first got it. It was right before I graduated college and I was going through a contemporary fiction phase at the time. I was reading a lot of books like Good Christian Bitches by Kim Gatlin and The Make-Up Girl by Andrea Semple. But I always come back to teen fiction/fantasy in the end. That’s another reason why this book was a little different for me. It wasn’t my usual fantasy read. There are no dragons, no damsels in distress, no Hagrid, etc. There’s ALIENS. Which until that point I had shaken my head at. Aliens? Aliens are for little boys and crazy people!

This book converted me. One, I loved the dystopian aspect of it and that somewhat helped me get past the idea of reading a sci-fi book at the time. Two, Cassie is kick-ass. Three, Evan Walker was my new fictional crush. Move over Edward Cullen! And four, it was different. I was graduating college in August, and was soon to be moving back to the Dallas area with my boyfriend (now husband), starting a new career in a field I knew nothing about (Insurance! Yuck!) so it was was nice to have a little something out of the usual.

I fell in love with Cassie as a character because

A) She has a little brother much younger than her. ( I have 3!)

B) She writes in a journal all the time. (Me again)

C) She was determined to survive and not need the help of anyone else while she was at it. (Very admirable in a character. Especially a teenaged female one at that.)

Then I fell in love with Evan Walker… because he sounds like the sexiest dream hunk to ever live even if he is part alien. Helloooooo! You don’t get more tall, dark and handsome and tortured soul than that!

Zombie was alright but he always came off as kind of a tool to me. I’m not sure if that was the intended characterization of him though. That might just be me being Team Evan Walker. Yes, you have to say first and last time with him. Just like Edward Cullen.

We saw the movie Tuesday and it was a fantastic book-to-film adaption. If there is anything to complain about, it would be that the beginning dragged on a little bit too much for me but I am also the type of person who has trouble sitting through long movies. I get bored and have to finish them in different sittings. But I still loved it!

I really enjoyed Chloe Grace Moretz as Cassie. I remember feeling very pleased with her casting when I first heard about it. She’s “Kick-Ass” in everything she’s in. Pun intended.

She looks how I pictured Cassie too. In all honesty, I loved all of the casting in the movie except Ringer. I don’t know if it was the actress or the way they portrayed her but it didn’t fit the mental image in my mind of Ringer. My best friend agrees. We were a little taken back. I remember Ringer being very tough in the book, a little crass, and independent… but not Goth and overly angsty. She just actually seemed THAT tough in the book. And I pictured her being darker? Like tanner, or Hispanic even. But maybe that is just my mental image of her.

The setting was great. The action was better. I wish there had been a little more evil Vosch in it but I understand that it would have made for a much longer movie if they had included all of the military training and squad bonding.

I definitely plan on buying this movie and I am anxiously anticipating The Infinite Sea’s debut to the big screen.

Leave a Reply

