Winter by Marissa Meyer

12558711_1677471142467433_1300347682_n

Goodreads Blurb

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.


Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?

Review

I finished Winter about 3 days ago. I usually don’t make posts about books I finish until about 3-5 days after the fact. I like to mull them over a little bit. I really enjoyed this ending of The Lunar Chronicles but it was not my favorite. I think I would say this is my third favorite of the series.

  1. Cress
  2. Cinder
  3. Winter
  4. Fairest 
  5. Scarlet

I think the story was wrapped up nicely. Well, maybe except Wolf’s story. That definitely kind of sucked. I wish something so horrible hadn’t happened to him, but I guess Meyer did that to make it more believable. You can’t have a revolutionary war and no one get hurt. It just felt like all of the bad stuff happened to him. He was already a science experiment, separated from Scarlet, had a crazy evil brother, his dad had died, and his mom was killed and then that! I felt awful for him. If anyone should have gone crazy in the story it should have been Wolf and not Winter.

I love Winter’s story. Almost as much as I love Cress’. She’s very quirky and her dialogue and character made me laugh out loud while reading the book quite frequently. I love the fact that she has absolutely no filter and basically talks like she is a baby alien who knows no nuances.

Like in Fairest, this addition to the series also made me feel pity for Levana. I wouldn’t go as far to say sympathy but I definitely felt pity for her. I think anyone who goes through that kind of traumatic experience will end up being a little coldhearted later in life. She probably didn’t have to be psychotic but maybe being raised as a royal that’s just what happened.

I wish someone would pick these books up and make them into movies. If they were done correctly they would be awesome! It would probably be hard to make cyborgs not look cheesy though. I’m not sure the CGI would look natural at all. Or even the wolf soldiers. But I would love to see the setting of Luna and New Beijing.

And can I just say how excited I am about Meyer’s new book Heartless? I love how she is taking all of the fairy tales and revamping them and giving the characters their own stories. She’s so creative! If I ever write a book I would want to do a fairy tale retelling.

I gave this novel 5/5 stars on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

