Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

GetAttachment

“Let’s go rattle the stars.” -Aelin Galathynius

Goodreads Blurb

The queen has returned.
Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past…
She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.
She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die for her. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.

Review

I can’t believe I have to wait until September to read the 5th book. Urrrrgggg! Worst book hangover ever. It was really fin reading this one because I recently got my cousin hooked on the Throne of Glass books. I got the first one for her for Christmas and she devoured them. She caught up to me and I had started reading them in October I think. As we were reading we would text each other and talk about the book and the plot twists. There were a ton of plot twists in this one! Maas is a plot twist genius.

I really enjoyed seeing all of the relationships bend and change in this installment of the series. Especially towards the end. Some of the relationships got better and some seem like they are going to be very complicated later in the books to come.

Manon Blackbeak has become one of my favorite characters. I love when authors can make me love a villain as much as a protagonist. Her and Asterin are two of my favorite characters now. I wasn’t sure about Elide at first, I thought she seemed weak and wishy-washy but by the end of the book I was rooting for her as well.

I feel like there’s going to be more going on the next book with Aedion, seeing as he is Gavriel’s son. It was such a big deal to Lorcan and Rowan. I can’t help but think he is going to play a bigger part later. I was a little confused when it came to Aedion’s character… at first he seemed like a macho man, and I know the relationship had to change a little since Rowan took the blood oath with Aelin but I didn’t like how submissive he became towards Rowan and Aelin. I know they are playing on the animalistic qualities of them being Fae but it was like he lost his fire 😦

As for Lysandra and Arobynn. Some people may say that his death was too quick. I think it was perfect. I love how he wasn’t able to make a big deal out of it and go down as a legend or anything. He did not deserve that. He was awful and I am glad Lysandra turned out to be such a strong, independent person. I think she and Aelin need each other.

I feel a little shocked as to how everything ended with the King of Adarlan. It was epic, I will say that. But how everything came to fruition was confusing to me. I still feel as if I don’t completely understand why he was so horrible? Was he possessed by a Valg too? Or was he just brainwashed? Was he actually a decent person there at the end?

I can’t wait to see who side everyone is on in the end. And I can’t tell who the major players will be. Will Maeve take part? Will Nesryn and Chaol make it back in time from the Southern continent to take much part in what’s to come? Will Dorian and Aelin side together or against each other? Dorian’s farewell to her was a little obscure to me. And I really want Manon and Aelin fighting together but how is that going to work if Manon is under her grandmothers thumb and working for Erawan????

I think that’s why I love Maas so much. She’s so great at leaving questions for the next book. There’s always multiple cliffhangers.

I gave this novel 5/5 stars. I’d give it more on Goodreads if it was an option.

Leave a Reply

