Unhooked by Lisa Maxwell

12783410_967187956708505_1018489351_n

Goodreads Blurb

For as long as she can remember, Gwendolyn Allister has never had a place to call home—all because her mother believes that monsters are hunting them. Now these delusions have brought them to London, far from the life Gwen had finally started to build for herself. The only saving grace is her best friend, Olivia, who’s coming with them for the summer.

But when Gwen and Olivia are kidnapped by shadowy creatures and taken to a world of flesh-eating sea hags and dangerous Fey, Gwen realizes her mom might have been sane all along.

The world Gwen finds herself in is called Neverland, yet it’s nothing like the stories. Here, good and evil lose their meaning and memories slip like water through her fingers. As Gwen struggles to remember where she came from and find a way home, she must choose between trusting the charming fairy-tale hero who says all the right things and the roguish young pirate who promises to keep her safe.


With time running out and her enemies closing in, Gwen is forced to face the truths she’s been hiding from all along. But will she be able to save Neverland without losing herself?

Review

Unhooked was very entertaining. I went on a La Madeleine/Barnes & Noble date with my coworker Saturday night and picked this one up. I have been wanting it for several months now. I found the author, Lisa Maxwell, while perusing through up and coming book releases and stalked her website. It was in December because I received a Christmas card in the mail for signing up to follow her page. I love it when authors go out of their way for their readers like that! I instantly liked Lisa.

I finished Unhooked this morning so it took me all of 3 days to read. I love her writing, I love the fact that she’s a teacher, and I love fairytale twists. She even mentions Barrie (the original author of Peter Pan) in this book! She has several epic quotes in this book as well. I love to mark up and tab all of my books when I find quotes that stand out to me. Some of hers are:

“But mortal hearts aren’t meant for flight, and human bodies are made to break.”

He remembered everything then, . In that frightful moment, his fierce heart broke…”

“Neverland might have helped with the forgetting, but it didn’t create it. That we do well enough on our own.”

How pretty are these? She’s a philologist and teacher! I feel like I can really relate to her. haha

I love the story line of this book. I love Rowan (Captain Hook) and his crew. I like any story that can make me love the villain, even if the villain turns out to be the good guy like in this book! Or like Elphaba in Wicked. Pan was awful. I hated how cocky and seductive he was to everyone. I felt bad for Gwen’s friend Olivia. I wish that Olivia had been more present in the book. Her ending was sad and felt undeserved.

It was neat reading about all the different beasts and monsters in Neverland. Some I had head of and some were new to me. The only thing I wish was that there had been a more clear story about the monsters and Gwen’s father. I wonder if there will be another book explaining where he is, who he is, and more information about Gwen’s mother. I couldn’t tell if she was a good mother or a crap one. I think Gwen’s lack of parenting made her not confident. She never had anyone to trust and did not trust herself when she was told she was part Fey.  I think if there is another book she will come back a new person and trust herself because she has Rowan with her. Maybe they can restore Neverland!

The cover needs to be mentioned in this post too. It is BEAUTIFUL. I love pretty covers! I just want to put them where everyone can see them when they come in my house and this one is definitely worthy of coffee table exposure.

2 thoughts on “Unhooked by Lisa Maxwell

Leave a Reply

