A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

12819100_1345931418765632_1274429418_n

“Be glad of your human heart, Feyre. Pity those who don’t feel anything at all.”
Sarah J. Maas, A Court of Thorns and Roses

Goodreads Blurb

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Review

I am so sad I finished this book so quickly. I loved it as much as the Throne of Glass series. Actually, I may have loved it more. I enjoyed how dark this book was and romantic. One thing that I have noticed about Maas’ stories is that she leans more to the New Adult genre. In A Court of Thorns and Roses, the main character Feyre is 19 years old vs that of a Young Adult heroine who is usually around the ages of 15-17. I find her heroines more relatable since I am in my twenties. It’s nice to have a genre that’s between Young Adult and Adult. I know that most editors and publishing houses would tell authors to stay away from that age bracket because it’s too small of a population to aim for but I think more and more adults are reading the New Adult fiction genre. Even women in their thirties who want an older heroine with all the Young Adult adventures and whirlwind romances are reading New Adult. Most authors that write this genre have to go to such lengths as independent publishing because bigger publishing houses can’t decide where these books fit within their market.

Although Feyre definitely had some flaws, they weren’t teeny-bopper flaws liked throwing herself at boys or being irresponsible.  If anything she held too much responsibility and it made her a little big for her britches. I liked that about her.

And Maas has a way for making me fall in love with multiple people. Like with Chaol and Rowan in the Throne of Glass books. In this novel I first fell in love with Tamlin of course, but I also love Lucien and Rhysand. I know I know! Rhysand’s a “bad guy”. But I think he actually loves her in his own twisted way. He fought for her when no one else did and orchestrated all the events that went down in the end. I’m secretly happy she has to spend a week with him every month. It will be like Persephone and Hades, but hopefully she will find it more tolerable there than Persephone found the Underworld. And who doesn’t love a bad guy with a good heart?

Oh my gosh, and the setting. It was perfect! Sometimes I think Faerie stories fall short because it’s a hard concept to do well, it can come off cheesy and overdone but she did it perfectly. I loved it even more with the Beauty and the Beast story intertwined. I loved Beauty and the Beast as a child. In my mind I was picturing Tamlin’s manor on a sunny moor in Ireland or Scotland and the mountain reminded me of Moria from Lord of the Rings. 

I can’t tell if Feyre and Tamlin’s next journey will be solely against Rhysand and the Dark Court or if it will also be against humans since Jurian’s ring disappeared after Amarantha was killed. I think he will find a way to come back and cause trouble against the faeries and humans. I don’t know how yet but I think someone from another court will be helping him. Maybe Lucien’s brothers from the Autumn Court since they despise Lucien so much.

I gave this book 5/5 stars. I would have given it many more if it were possible. I would not recommend this book though if you are under 18 without asking your parents first though. It has very sexually explicit parts in it. If you HAVE read it and loved it as much as I did the next one, A Court of Mist and Fury , will be released May 3rd! Yay! Happy dance!!! I can’t freaking wait!

Leave a Reply

