Bound by Susanne Valenti

Bound

Goodreads Review

Locked in the darkness all hope should be lost but Maya has never felt so alive. She will have to fight for her survival even harder than before but she’s never had so much to live for. Everything has changed again and there are many obstacles in her way but she can’t give up now. Fate keeps conspiring against her but she is determined to get back to the city which owes her so much. They took her family, her home and the truth from her and she won’t stop until she’s paid them back.

My Review 

***DO NOT READ UNLESS YOU HAVE READ THE PREVIOUS BOOKS***

I gave this installment to The Cage of Lies series 4/5 stars. While I still loved the story and characters I felt like it was a little slow at the get-go. I enjoyed their journey and I enjoyed the ending (Valenti is great at leaving you with a cliffhanger!) but I wasn’t crazy about the gang staying so long with Lee’s mine-folk. I felt just as restless as Maya and the gang. I just wanted them to be proactive and to be in the city all ready!

I thought the fight between the mine-women and the girls of the gang comical! They didn’t have a prayer. But I also thought that part in particular was a little long.

But I loved the rest of their journey. I enjoyed the end of the Creeper King, the killer catfish in the lake, Taylor’s Dad being saved by Livi, etc.

I still love all the characters. Although Blane’s character made my heartache throughout the entire book. I just wanted Jayden to show up, safe and sound. But I know he didn’t have the same happy ending as Coal. 😦 Whhhhhyyyyyyyy????

I must say, I am so happy Taylor and Alicia are a thing now… Or almost a thing. They’re both Robins to different Batman’s. And they deserve some happiness too! It seems like they are both always on the outskirts of Coal and Maya’s limelight. I feel the same about Crystal too. Yeah, she’s not the most moral person, but she has a big heart and she’s loyal to those she cares about.

One thing that made me nervous at the end of this book was how it’s been so hard to get to Maya’s parents. I’m scared she has gotten worked up about them being alive and well but what if that’s not the case? What if the Wardens have been doing something horrible to her parents all along? What if they don’t remember her? What if they’re actually not alive? GAAAAH! The suspense is killing me!

I think the Dwellers on the bottom floor will end up helping them. They seem like they hate the Wardens as much as the gang does. Maybe they will create an uprising in the next book!

Leave a Reply

