The Last Star by Rick Yancey

“Some things down to the smallest of things, are worth the sum of all things”
Rick Yancey, The Last Star

The Last Star

Goodreads Blurb

The enemy is Other. The enemy is us.

They’re down here, they’re up there, they’re nowhere. They want the Earth, they want us to have it. They came to wipe us out, they came to save us.

But beneath these riddles lies one truth: Cassie has been betrayed. So has Ringer. Zombie. Nugget. And all 7.5 billion people who used to live on our planet. Betrayed first by the Others, and now by ourselves.

In these last days, Earth’s remaining survivors will need to decide what’s more important: saving themselves…or saving what makes us human.

Review

I gave the final book in The 5th Wave series 3/5 stars. Some people are going to strongly disagree. In  my opinion this book was slower than the others, more expected, and overall made me sad. I get sad stories but this one depressed me the entire way through. It reminded me a lot of We All Looked Up by Tommy Wallach. But I enjoyed that one more than The Last Star. 

In Yancey’s defense I think it had to end this way. I think Cassie had to be the extended metaphor of humanity and if Evan Walker had been the one to sacrifice himself it would not have sent the same message. Readers should have known that from the very first book that Cassie was going to die. That she was going to take the fall for humanity. I just hated it. I really liked Cassie. She was emotional, but weak as a human and fierce in her own way. She was neurotic but she loved everyone so fiercely and unapologetically.

This novel wrapped up the war against the humans and the others. The others were going to be stronger and faster no matter what but they could never anticipate the humanity and love that humans have. They were blindsided by it in the end. They themselves had bursts of it. Vosch had a sense of pride when he talked to Marika/Ringer. The girl who captured Zombie, Nugget, and Megan seemed to give in to him, and Razor fell for Marika.

There was no other way they could win. I just hate how it had to go down. Sam and Cassie never reconnected and it was sad because she kept telling Ben that he loved him more than he loved her. It’s like she died accepting that and she felt as if she had to be the one to die so that Sam didn’t have to lose another person he loved (Ben). Merrrrr.

It felt as if none of them had a clear understanding of what they each felt. You could never tell if Evan was madly in love with Cassie or just exploringhis feelings. You never knew if Ringer loved Ben as much as Razor. It was all very complex. And maybe it was meant to be in the grey area but I just wanted some answers! Or some happy endings. I guess in a way some of them got a happy ending.

On a happier note…

Yesterday was National Typewriter Day and I recently acquired a vintage Smith-Corona circa 1930. I’m proud of my new baby 🙂

Typewriter

Leave a Reply

