Silver in the Blood by Jessica Day George

Silver in the Blood

Goodreads Blurb

Society girls from New York City circa 1890, Dacia and Lou never desired to know more about their lineage, instead preferring to gossip about the mysterious Romanian family that they barely knew. But upon turning seventeen, the girls must return to their homeland to meet their relatives, find proper husbands, and—most terrifyingly—learn the deep family secrets of The Claw, The Wing, and The Smoke. The Florescus, after all, are shape-shifters, and it is time for Dacia and Lou to fulfill the prophecy that demands their acceptance of this fate… or fight against this cruel inheritance with all their might.

With a gorgeous Romanian setting, stunning Parisian gowns, and dark brooding young men, readers will be swept up by this epic adventure of two girls in a battle for their lives.

Review 

I first saw this book at the Texas Teen Book Festival 2015 in Austin, TX. I tried to buy it on the spot but the publishers were just doing a giveaway of ARCs. I received an ARC of Velvet by Temple West but not Silver in the Blood. Which I can’t wait to read either.

Velvet

So I was really excited when I came across Silver in the Blood by Jessica Day George in Barnes & Noble. It finally had come out! I fell in love with the cover all over again. It’s so whimsical and I love anything that looks foreign or that has aspects of fantasy in it. Like vampires, werewolves or Hobbits, Oh My!

Sadly though, I had to give this one a 2/5 star rating. While I did enjoy the setting, I was not the biggest fan of the writing style. I think this is a good post-book hangover book to read. It was a quick easy read, and I didn’t get too attached to the characters.

I didn’t understand how the characters personalities flip-flopped in this story. In the beginning, Dacia is the brave, outspoken of the two cousins. She speaks her mind and is always trying to defend her timid cousin Lou. But then Lou grows into this amazingly strong-willed person once she accepts her powers. I get that it turned her into a stronger person, but it was as if they just traded personalities and it was confusing and unbelievable.

I did enjoy the idea of the story. I read how the author was so enveloped with this story that she and her husband took a trip to Romania just to do research for this novel. I think that’s some crazy awesome dedication. I like how she decided for Dacia and Lou’s story to take place in the past versus the future. I think it romanticized the story more, in a good way. It added to the rich culture of Romania and to the Dracula folklore.

But that’s another thing… I know it was kind of a twist on Dracula but the whole vampire aspect was removed but there was a familial clan of werewolves, bats, and mist to guard the Dracula family? I think you might as well have left in the vampire story. It went hand in hand with the rest of the plot.

The story moved too quickly in my opinion. There wasn’t enough build-up and the build-up that was there was a little stale. I think the story could grow if there is a sequel to follow but I wasn’t the biggest fan. But I would be willing to give a sequel the benefit of the doubt and try it just because I love historical fiction and I love foreign places. Maybe the story line could be more developed with another addition.

Leave a Reply

