Harry Potter and The Cursed Child by JK Rowling, John Tiffany, and Jack Thorne Review

“You — the three of you — you shone you know? You liked each other. You had fun. I envied you those friendships more than anything else.”

-Draco Malfoy to Harry, Ron, and Hermione.

This is one of many of Draco’s very meaningful quotes in Harry Potter and The Cursed Child. I think he’s been thinking about some things… Or his wife brought out his soft side.

The Cursed Child

Goodreads Review

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

The Cursed Child 2

Review

Oh my gosh. I feel like I did after I watched the last Harry Potter movie that came out. Like my childhood is OVERRRR. This play was so good and I am so sad that it’s over. It was very nostalgic reading this one. Maybe because I was a kid when I read Harry Potter and now I’m an adult like Harry, Ron, and Hermione. It was relatable! Not that I have kids yet but I’m working on getting the whole adulting thing down.

I thought the whole going back in time with the illegal Time-Turners was awesome. I know Hermione’s fascinated me when she used hers at Hogwarts. It was really neat to see all the different realities that could have played out but sad that there was no saving Cedric. He didn’t deserve to be the spare. But it taught a good lesson to try not an dwell on the past and that everything happens for a reason.

I loved the new characters. Albus was a little self-absorbed but what teenager isn’t. Especially as the middle child who struggles with being a successful wizard. Scorpius was my favorite though. I like the fact that something good could come from Draco. Scorpius is kind and hilarious. I did think it was weird that Albus fell for Delphi, knowing she was quite a bit older than him. I don’t know why but that left a bad taste in my mouth. I guess Albus needed to be easily manipulated for his character line.

However, it was sad that Scorpius and Albus did not like Hogwarts. Hogwarts has always been my getaway happy place! How can anyone not like it??? Maybe because Hagrid wasn’t there.

It was like a walk down memory lane getting to see Dumbledore, McGonagall, Hagrid, and Snape. Although a few of their parts were enough to rip your heart out. But I think it was a nice way to give the older Harry Potter fans some closure. Poor Snape 😦 Poor Alan Rickman!  He knew he wasn’t going to make it but he was still a hero.

OH MY GOSH. And can we just talk about when his parents were killed in Godric’s Hollow and they all stayed and watched? I felt like my heart was being ripped out and stomped on. Poor Harry! No one should watch that or live through that TWICE! I don’t care how young he was that has to be traumatic.

I really wish I could go see the play in London, but alas I am in Texas. I hear they are thinking about bringing it to New York… If that’s the case I am so down. I read in the back of the book that Imogen Heap did all of the Music Production in the play! How stinking cool is that??? If you don’t know who Imogen Heap is I suggest you go to Youtube right now and type in Imogen Heap – Hide and Seek right now!

 I gave this play 5/5 of course. J.K. Rowling made my dreams come true and brought more Harry Potter into my lifeMalfoy Quote

Photo cred:  

Leave a Reply

