Zenith by Sasha Alsburg and Lindsay Cummings

Zenith

Goodreads Blurb

There is darkness sweeping across the stars.

Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness: a powerful mercenary whose reign of terror stretches across the Mirabel Galaxy. To those aboard her fearsome glass starship the Maurader, she’s just Andi, their captain and protector.

When a routine mission goes awry, the all-girl crew’s resilience is tested as they find themselves in a most unfamiliar place: at the mercy of a sadistic bounty hunter connected to Andi’s past and a harrowing betrayal.

Meanwhile, on the far side of the galaxy, a ruthless ruler waits in the shadows of the planet Xen Ptera, biding her time to exact revenge for the destruction of her people. The final pieces of her deadly plan are about to fall into place, unleashing a plot that will tear Mirabel in two.

Andi and her crew embark on a dangerous, soul-testing journey that could restore order to their ship—or just as easily start a war that will devour worlds. As the Marauder hurtles towards the unknown, and Mirabel hangs in the balance, the only thing certain is that in a galaxy run on lies and illusion, no one can be trusted.

Review

I’m not much on short stories or shorter books. I purchased this book on my iBooks one day when I was sitting at my husbands college waiting for him to finish his final. I’ve met author Lindsay Cummings at one of her first books signings for The Murder Complex in Frisco and then later at a book signing/release of The Balance Keepers. She was a really friendly and quirky person and I didn’t know that much about her at first other than that The Murder Complex sounded really cool and I wanted a copy of it. But I really enjoyed her writing. I liked how The Murder Complex seemed almost a little too dark to be YA but it made the story really intense and fast-paced. Then I went on to read The Balance Keepers because I love middle grade novels too and I’m a middle school Reading teacher and I like to know about popular books that I can recommend to my kiddos.

As for Sasha Alsburg, I came across her Instagram several years ago and it led me to her Youtube channel. She’s also another fun, quirky avid reader so naturally I was drawn to her posts. I love watching booktubers talk about ARC’s they’ve received from publishers. It keeps me in the know and builds the anticipation for when they come out!

Anyway, I heard they were writing a book together that was to come out in different parts.  I’ve only read part one so far. I don’t think the second part is out yet. And I know they just released the news on Snapchat and their website that Harlequin Teen has recently decided to publish Zenith in hardback coming sometime in 2017. Eeeeeek! So excited to own a physical copy!

I was excited to read it but I wasn’t expecting too much from it since I knew it was going to be so short. It’s hard to get invested in short stories/books in my opinion. But let me tell you, I LOVED it. From the first page I was hooked. What’s really neat is that you can tell some of the characters are based off of themselves and it was fun to connect those dots. Andi is totally Lindsay. She has silver hair with purple highlights and she’s the captain. (Like how Lindsay already has some books published and Sasha is kind of, sort of a newbie to having a book published. She’s pretty much immersed in the publishing world either way.) I’m thinking Nor is Sasha. She hasn’t been in the story other than in passing but I bet one is the good guy and one is the villain.

Then there’s Dextro (or Dex). I’m pretty certain he’s based off Lindsay’s husband. I think she based Zephyr off of him too in The Murder Complex, and she was Meadow. But Dex is the ex of Androma, and he’s tall and dark. So my spidey-sense is thinking he’s her husband as a fictional character. 

I really loved all the characters in Zenith. I wasn’t sure how the all girl crew was going to go. I didn;t know if it would be a little too girly, and girl power-esque. But they’re all pretty kick ass and the plot moves quickly. 

I enjoyed the backstory with Andi befriending the heiress, or daughter of the man who is forcing her and her crew to rescue his now missing son. It was all very interesting. I wasn’t so sure about the setting at first. I think the world building was done a little too quickly but as the plot progresses it gets better. It reminded me a lot of the movie Guardians of the Galaxy, and Andi is Starlord, the kind hearted rebel-Robinhood. 

I’ll definitely be purchasing part two and the physical copy when it releases.

A Thank You for publisher Harlequin Teen…

I also wanted to give a quick shout out to Harlequin Teen too. I emailed their publicity department and explained to them how I am a middle school Reading teacher and in charge of our school book club and asked if they had any extra book posters they could send to me for my classroom and they responded almost immediately asking for my address and said they had a few picked out for me based on the age group I teach. How awesome is that? I officially love Harlequin Teen for supporting teachers. It means so much to me that they are taking time out of their work to send me those. I will forever be grateful and appreciative.  Thank you.

Leave a Reply

