Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas (Throne of Glass #5)

fullsizerender-2

Goodreads Blurb

The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those who don’t.

As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.

Aelin’s journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?

eos-17

Review

If you have not started this series yet, go buy it now! It is my very favorite fantasy series out. It’s probably my favorite series ever right after Harry Potter. I have loved Aelin since she was Celaena and since she was merely an assassin and not a queen. Actually I love all of the characters in this whole series. Some of their personalities drive me crazy but I love them all and how different they are. My favorite in order:

Manon Blackbeak (or should I say Crochan?) The most badass of the badass. Freaking love her and her “flower smelling wyrven”.

Elide Lochan, basically a mini-badass that has some traits from Manon and some from Aelin. She’s grown so much since we first met her.

Aelin Ashryver Galathynius, because duh.

Rowan Whitethorn and Dorian Havilliard are pretty tied. I can’t decide which hunk I love more. They’re so different but they’re both awesome. I may have more appreciation for Dorian after following his storyline for longer and seeing all of the crap EVERYONE has put him through.

Lysandra and Ansel of Briarcliff. Okay it’s probably strange to some people that Ansel is one of my faves but I’ve liked her since The Assassin’s Blade novel when we first met her. She’s so much like Celaena but a little off her rocker at the same time. It makes her character intriguing. And Lysandra is one tough cookie. She literally bid her time and did not back down without a fight. I love how tough she is and how her and Aelin have become so close after they hated each other in the beginning.

I cannot think of one thing I disliked about this book. I loved everything about it. I just wish the next novel was coming out soon. Maas threw me for a loop in this one. Sometimes twists are predictable but this one was a doozy. I can’t believe how Aelin was captured in the end. She went gallantly but the other armies/armadas showed up like A SECOND after Maeve ran off with her. Literally right after. It was heartbreaking. It’s like when you’re watching a movie you’ve seen a hundred and one times and you know something disastrous is going to happen but you scream at the TV screen anyway like the main character can hear you and will heed your warning this 102nd time you are watching this show… yeah. Like that! URRRRRGGGGGG! Poor Aelin. And poor Rowan! It was heart wrenching when he called her his wife to Lorcan.

All of the characters have been through so much crap. I just want everything to work out for everyone! But I’m terrified Maas is going to pull a Libba Bray in The Gemma Doyle series and kill off one of the main characters to prove the point of “Not every story has a happy ending”. I bawled for days. Not just cried, but sobbed. I made the mistake of finishing that book in my history class in high school. I was holding it in my lap under my desk when I was supposed to be taking notes over a lecture and I started ugly crying in the middle of class. The coach told me to go walk it off outside. How embarrassing is that? Ugh but I don’t want Maas to kill any of the main characters off! But if you think about it no one has really died since Nehemia… So I feel like in the land of fiction we’re due for another one and I bet it will be heartbreaking. Let’s pray that I’m wrong.

There was so much action in this book. I enjoyed watching all of their paths finally converge in this one. I had been waiting for it throughout the other books but they all finally intertwined in this one. But that ending though… they’re going to have to fight to find each other again. Aelin has always been the HBIC, and had to be fifteen steps ahead of everyone, now it’s their turn to help a sister out. I think Elide is going to play a big part in her rescue in the next book. She is slowly becoming a force to be reckoned with, and I think that force is going to be witchy.

This book received 5/5 from me. It could not have been more perfect.

Leave a Reply

