Recreated by Colleen Houck

Goodreads Blurb

Lily Young thought traveling across the globe with a reawakened sun prince was a grand adventure. Now she’s about to embark on the journey of a lifetime.

When Amon and Lily part tragically, he transports himself to the Netherworld—what mortals call hell. Tormented by the loss of his one true love, he’d rather suffer in agony during Lily’s mortal years than fulfill his duty to protect humanity.

Heartbroken, Lily seeks refuge on her grandmother’s farm. Yet she can feel Amon’s pain, and she has been having dreams—dreams of Amon continually suffering.

For before he departed, Amon gave Lily something very special, an item that connects them even though they are worlds apart. Now Lily must use this object to free him, and to free their realms from darkness and utter chaos. She will do whatever it takes.

 

recreated

Review

I gave this one 3/5 stars. I was very disappointed. Siiiiigh. I was so excited about this book because I couldn’t put the first one down. This book took me several weeks to finish. I just wasn’t feeling it. It was really hodge-podgey and the story had some very slow parts. I thought Lily going to the Underworld to save Amon would be really cool but then Lily went to meet Hassan with Anubis and it all got weird from there. I thought the whole lioness sharing consciousness with Lily was odd. It made the story hard to follow and I just didn’t find it interesting.

And later in the story once they go through the Turquoise Forest she then shares her body with the lioness, Tia and a fairy named Ashleigh. And then all of the different consciousness began falling for the different brothers. Lily still loved Amon, Tia fell for Asten, and Ashleigh seems like she’s into Ahmose. It was just odd.

After finishing this book I’m not sure if I even want to try and read Reunited… I just don’t feel as interested in the story anymore. But I do want to eventually read Reignited, which is a prequel to the whole series. I think it’s about the brothers back when they were princes, before they were the Son’s of Egypt and had to keep balance in the world every thousand years.

I was also a little disappointed that Amon didn’t play a bigger part in this book. Houck pulled a Stephenie Meyer and took out the main hottie! I know you all remember reading New Moon, and being upset that Edward Cullen was basically replaced by Jacob! It still hurts when I think about it….

I wish I had more to say on this one. It’s not the end all be all for Houck but after falling in love with her Tiger’s Curse series and then Reawakened, I thought all of her books would be that awesome. 

Leave a Reply

