Let’s Talk Social Media Platforms

I’ve been wanting to do this post for awhile. Today we have an overload of social media platforms and I wanted to discuss my favorite ones in regards to blog growth, finding out about the newest and most interesting books out there and just following interesting people.

I’ll start by sharing with you what makes up my social media, be it Instagram, Youtube, Snapchat, Facebook, WordPress, Twitter, etc. My social media is riddled with books and all things bookish, fitness and meal prepping, cooking/baking, writing and all things NaNoWriMo, author’s, fitness and travel inspirations, and beauty vloggers/bloggers.

My social media experience started off many years ago. Around year 2004. In middle school I used Xanga (an online journal for you youngin’s who have never heard of it), AIM (AOL instant messaging), and Myspace which was essentially Facebook before Facebook was around.

We’ve upgraded so much since then. I spend way too much time on social media these days. One because it’s useful and it keeps me up to date with my students. Two, because it’s a great way to communicate with people. It’s helped expand my blog and I’ve met awesome people who share the same interests as me. I think my favorite platform would have to be Instagram. I’ve met lots of fellow book lovers, talked to author’s, and I hear about all of the new up and coming books coming out from all of the big publisher’s and from watching bookstagramer’s unboxings.

After Instagram, Youtube is probably my next favorite. It’s hours and hours of unlimited entertainment! And anyone can do it! I started watching Youtube videos in college when my best friend introduced me to different beauty vloggers such as Tanya Burr, Ingrid Nilsen, Zoella, and Kathleen Lights. Now I follow people who post Storytimes and fitness videos, baking, etc. I personally don’t really have any experience making Youtube videos. I always wanted to try book vlogging but the camera is intimidating.

Oh my gosh, and Vlogmas. If you haven’t experienced Vlogmas yet you need to find a Youtuber that participates in Vlogmas in December. You basically just watch how their holiday season is going and they host giveaways and advertise new things for different companies. It’s festive! And helps you come up with ideas for Christmas gifts.

Now I follow lots of book vloggers like author Lindsay Cummings, Sasha Alsberg, and Read By Zoe. You can literally learn anything from Youtube. And it’s perfect for people who need a visual for How-To projects. And watching all of the new videos from the week is my favorite Saturday/Sunday morning routine. It’s the perfect way to wake up and enjoy your coffee.

Recently I’ve been addicted to Snapchat too. Sadly, one of the first things I do when I’m eating breakfast in the morning is check my Snapchat stories. It makes you feel so connected. Some of the people I follow are in different states or countries so their snaps are always really interesting to me!

I will always love Facebook. It gets a lot of flack from all the youngsters these days but I think it’s great. My husbands family lives on the East Coast and some are in Central America so it’s been one of the best ways to stay in touch with everyone. And I’ve had it for so long that it has all of my pictures on it and I enjoy seeing all of the On This Day pictures and posts that come up everyday.

I still feel like a newbie at Twitter. I’ve had one for several years but I don’t enjoy it as much as Facebook. I hate how the Tweets are so short and it feels so unorganized when I look at my feed. I use it for work and to advertise my blog but that’s about it.

And of course WordPress. I’ve had a WordPress blog for about 3 or 4 years now. I started it in college but did not actively keep up with it until about a year and a half ago. Technology used to intimidate me but I’ve grown more comfortable with it since I use it so often as a teacher. Everything is on computers and chromebooks now!

Other platforms worth mentioning would be Goodreads and Pinterest. I love them and I think they all can be really addicting. I have to limit myself on social media sometimes. I’ll wake up in the morning on the weekend and check all of my social media and I’ll look at the clock and a half hour has passed! Sad, right? It’s just so useful! And such a great way to meet new people, expand your business, shop, etc.

2 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Social Media Platforms

Leave a Reply

