Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

Goodreads Blurb

Nemeses! Dragons! Science! Symbolism! All these and more await in this brilliantly subversive, sharply irreverent epic from Noelle Stevenson. Featuring an exclusive epilogue not seen in the web comic, along with bonus conceptual sketches and revised pages throughout, this gorgeous full-color graphic novel is perfect for the legions of fans of the web comic and is sure to win Noelle many new ones.

Nimona is an impulsive young shapeshifter with a knack for villainy. Lord Ballister Blackheart is a villain with a vendetta. As sidekick and supervillain, Nimona and Lord Blackheart are about to wreak some serious havoc. Their mission: prove to the kingdom that Sir Ambrosius Goldenloin and his buddies at the Institution of Law Enforcement and Heroics aren’t the heroes everyone thinks they are.

But as small acts of mischief escalate into a vicious battle, Lord Blackheart realizes that Nimona’s powers are as murky and mysterious as her past. And her unpredictable wild side might be more dangerous than he is willing to admit.

nimona

Review

I have really been into graphic novels this year. I think my obsession started with Lumberjanes, which Noelle Stevenson also helped create. I started reading those towards the end of last year and finished them up in 2016. After reading those I bought Ms. Marvel  and fell in love with that story as well. This isn’t the first time I’ve read graphic novels. I read The Walking Dead volumes 1-7 in college but quickly became disenchanted with those around volume 6. The language and content in those is basically equivalent to a 13 year old boy trying to cuss and talk dirty. It was gross.

But Lumberjanes restored my faith in the graphic novel genre! Probably because they were written by females and focused more on humor and fun than on gross stuff.

I’ll admit I wasn’t sure about Nimona going into it. The beginning of the story just throws you in. It felt a little too rushed. But as the story went on I enjoyed the characters! Sir Blackheart and Sir Goldenloin are probably my favorites. Nimona was awesome but I feel like her character was mostly there to help Goldenloin and Blackheart find themselves and to bring them closer again.

I think the ending was a good one. You know that Nimona basically survived and that she was always watching from afar. It was pretty sweet. I just wished that her and Blackheart had stayed besties. They really grew to care about one another.

I gave this one 4/5 stars. Loved the story but I wish the beginning would have been easier to get into. I had to force myself to read about 50 pages before I actually got into the story.

Leave a Reply

