Saga by Brian K. Vaughn (Volume One)

saga

Goodreads Blurb

When two soldiers from opposite sides of a never-ending galactic war fall in love, they risk everything to bring a fragile new life into a dangerous old universe.

From bestselling writer Brian K. Vaughan, Saga is the sweeping tale of one young family fighting to find their place in the worlds. Fantasy and science fiction are wed like never before in this sexy, subversive drama for adults.

Review

I’ve been chewing this one over for a few days. I still feel like a newbie to the graphic novel world.. I’ve only been on the bandwagon for about 2 years now. I did read The Walking Dead graphic novels in college. Volumes 1-6 anyway. They got a little ridiculous. But I started reading The Lumberjanes and Nimona by Noelle Stevenson and then picked up Ms. Marvel on a whim almost two years ago.

I then heard about Saga on Instagram. I think it started to get popular due to all of the Star Wars movies coming out recently. It’s about a young couple who are not meant to be together but it starts off the story with their newborn daughter narrating their story. The woman is ex-military and the man was a soldier as well but they met at a prison and fell in love. The woman is giving birth to their daughter in the beginning of the graphic novel but they are on high alert since they are basically on the run since they’re countries are at war.

They go on a whirlwind adventure across the galaxy when a “prince”/military commander is told to find them at all cost. The commander is weird creature… He’s a man with a weird television head…right? Strange. Then there are these assassins that have been hired to find them too. Whoever finds them first gets paid and the other doesn’t. The man assassin is in love with the female assassin and she’s part spider and doesn’t wear a top. Yup! I cannot make this up people. This graphic novel is soooooooo odd. I think I would have enjoyed it more had it been a little less out there. It got to where it was hard to follow the story. The author was really out there and making stuff up.

While all this is taking place the couple and their newborn baby are racing across the galaxy and they meet this group of ghost-children and befriend a girl who needs a body host in order to leave the planet she’s one. She’s basically cut in half and you can see all of her organs hanging out from her stomach. It was disturbing. Maybe this is more of a guy graphic novel because it was hard for me to swallow.

Brian K. Vaughn has another graphic novel series out called  Paper Girls that I think I may enjoy better. It’s very 80’s looking. When I flipped through it at Barnes and Noble it gave me a Stranger Things feel. But instead of the motley crew in Stranger Things it’s a group of girls who have a paper route who are fighting villians. If anyone has read this I would love to hear what you thought about it!

Anyway, as for Saga, I’m thinking I probably won’t be buying the other volumes.

Leave a Reply

