The Hidden Oracle: The Trials of Apollo by Rick Riordan

Apollo

Goodreads Blurb

How do you punish an immortal?

By making him human.

After angering his father Zeus, the god Apollo is cast down from Olympus. Weak and disorientated, he lands in New York City as a regular teenage boy. Now, without his godly powers, the four-thousand-year-old deity must learn to survive in the modern world until he can somehow find a way to regain Zeus’s favour.

But Apollo has many enemies—gods, monsters and mortals who would love to see the former Olympian permanently destroyed. Apollo needs help, and he can think of only one place to go… an enclave of modern demigods known as Camp Half-Blood.

Review

I finally got around to reading this book! It’s took me forever. I always like to read Rick Riordan in between series I’ve been reading because they’re always an easy read and always fun and lighthearted. This one was no exception. I loved Apollo from the beginning. His conceitedness was humorous and he and Meg made quite the team.

This book is the perfect mixture of action and adventure and comedy. I wasn’t sure if Percy or Jason would make an appearance in the book and was excited when they did! I wish Annabeth would but she was preparing for SAT’s like Percy. It made me sad to see how much they’re grown up! I’ll miss their adventures. I hope that Rick Riordan can keep writing them into his stories. Percy Jackson and The Kane Chronicles are my all time favorites of Riordan’s.

I loved Meg and Apollo together. I think Riordan comes up with the best friendship pairs/groups. Everyone always brings something special to the group but they all manage to be different and quirky at the same time. And Leo came back with his dragon and Calypso! YAY! I loved that!!!! He’s one of my favorite characters.

Rick Riordan recently released the cover of the second book The Dark Prophecy (Trials of Apollo #2) and it looks just as awesome as the first one!

apollo 2

Picture courtesy of Goodreads.com

One thought on “The Hidden Oracle: The Trials of Apollo by Rick Riordan

Leave a Reply

