Warcross by Marie Lu

*I received this ARC at TXLA 2017 this year. This is my honest review.*

warcross

Goodreads Blurb

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu—when a game called Warcross takes the world by storm, one girl hacks her way into its dangerous depths.

For the millions who log in every day, Warcross isn’t just a game—it’s a way of life. The obsession started ten years ago and its fan base now spans the globe, some eager to escape from reality and others hoping to make a profit. Struggling to make ends meet, teenage hacker Emika Chen works as a bounty hunter, tracking down players who bet on the game illegally. But the bounty hunting world is a competitive one, and survival has not been easy. Needing to make some quick cash, Emika takes a risk and hacks into the opening game of the international Warcross Championships—only to accidentally glitch herself into the action and become an overnight sensation.

Convinced she’s going to be arrested, Emika is shocked when instead she gets a call from the game’s creator, the elusive young billionaire Hideo Tanaka, with an irresistible offer. He needs a spy on the inside of this year’s tournament in order to uncover a security problem . . . and he wants Emika for the job. With no time to lose, Emika’s whisked off to Tokyo and thrust into a world of fame and fortune that she’s only dreamed of. But soon her investigation uncovers a sinister plot, with major consequences for the entire Warcross empire.

In this sci-fi thriller, #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu conjures an immersive, exhilarating world where choosing who to trust may be the biggest gamble of all.

 

Review

I have been reading so much lately. I’m 21 weeks pregnant right now so I know once September comes and the baby gets here that I won’t have the time anymore. At least not for awhile, and when I do have the time I will most definitely be too tired or to busy for reading. I was so sad when Warcross ended. I read it fairly quickly because I enjoyed it so much and because I went and bought Sarah J Maas’ new book A Court of Wings and Ruin two days ago and it’s been staring me in the face ever since.

I gave Warcross 5/5 stars. I’m not really into the whole hacking, computer science stuff normally but I LOVED this book. I liked the plot, the main character Emika, and the fact that she’s a bounty hunter of sorts. It reminded me a little of the Stephanie Plum books by Janet Evanovich. She’s young, tech savvy, witty, and a badass? AND has rainbow hair? So cool.

I tried listening to Ready Player One, a little earlier this year  with my husband on a road trip to and from Broken Bow, Oklahoma and I just couldn’t get into it. We picked that book on Audible more for him than for me. I thought why not try it? I hadn’t read anything like it before. But it turned out to be a little too hardcore video game nerdish. I just couldn’t relate because I’m not a gamer. At least not since 2002 when I was obsessed with playing Spyro and Megaman on my Play Station 2. But that’s been a hot minute.

Warcross was much easier for me to relate to. I enjoyed the romance, I enjoyed how strong and independent Emika Chen is, the fact that it’s a Marie Lu book because, hello? She’s awesome. I’m actually reading Legend with my 7th graders right now too so I’ve been surrounded by Mari Lu lately.

It felt like a Dystopia society as well as a cyber-hacking book. Everything in the world in this book is technological. There’s hardly anymore waiters/waitresses because robots are taking those jobs, people exchange loot in the video game Warcross like it’s actual money, you can change your surroundings to look how you want, and you can connect to people and feel their feelings. It’s crazy!

Basically, Emika gets caught hacking into the World Championship of the game and accidentally glitches herself into the game where everyone and their mommas can see her. This catches the attention of the creator of the game, Hideo Tanaka, who so happens needs an expert hacker for a job. From there he flies her out to Tokyo, offers her the job but also enters her into the championship.

The ending of the book definitely takes a turn. I feel like it was a little expected but that doesn’t make me love it any less or any less excited for the next one. It will be interesting to see how the relationships made in Warcross are going to change. Because after the end of the book, there’s no going back. I don’t want to give too much away since the book doesn’t come out until September.

Leave a Reply

